关于我们

常见问答

打印

问:基金会接受捐赠吗?
答:常常有人主动向基金会慷慨捐款。如果他们愿意共同推进我们所热衷的事业,我们更希望他们能直接捐款给我们资助的对象而不是捐给基金会。尽管我们财力雄厚,但面对我们需要克服的挑战,这些资金仅仅是杯水车薪,因此我们与政府、私人部门、其他捐赠者和组织通力合作,以发挥最大的影响力。

如果仍有个人愿意直接向基金会捐款,本着对捐赠者负责的态度,我们在接受个人捐赠时遵循这些准则。在此申明,基金现在和将来都不会要求他人提供捐赠。我们的目标并非筹款,,而只是为了对慷慨之举表示尊重。

问:我所在的组织是否有资格通过基金会获得资助?
答:
参见资助机会

问:比尔、梅林达和沃伦是否因捐钱给基金会而获得了税收减免?
答:许多人都因慈善捐款而享受税收优惠。节税数额取决于慈善捐款的数额以及个人收入。

比尔、梅林达和沃伦极其慷慨地向基金会捐款,他们捐赠的数额远远大于自己的年收入。因此,他们通过捐款获得的节税额仅占他们捐款数额的极小部分。

从 1994 年到 2006 年,比尔和梅林达向基金会共计捐款 260 亿美元以上。这些捐款带来的节税额不足同期捐款总额的 8.3%。

2006 年,沃伦完成了对基金会的首笔巨额捐款,并宣布并未从该笔捐赠中获得税收利益。

问:我收到一封电子邮件,通知我赢得了来自比尔•盖茨或基金会的奖金或彩票。这是真的吗?
答:
不是真的。请点击这里 了解关于电子邮件欺诈的更多详情。

问:哪里能找到关于基金会工作申请的更多信息?
答:
要了解基金会工作机会以及申请方式的更多信息,请访问我们的“工作机会”板块

问:基金会是否提供志愿者服务机会?
答:许多感兴趣的志愿者联系我们,希望能够提供帮助。但是,本基金会是一家资助机构,我们相信那些接收我们资助的组织(以及许多和它们类似的组织)更需要志愿者的加入。要了解更多详情,请访问志愿者页面

问:你们为什么对 XX 公司进行投资?
答:
在这一年之中,经常有人询问我们为什么要进行某项投资。由于我们希望继续专注于纲领性的工作,因此我们对具体的某笔投资不作评论。不过我们每年都会发布投资项目清单并提交纳税申报单。

问:基金会在气候变化问题上有何作为?
答:
基金会相信,气候变化是关系到我们每一个人,尤其是发展中国家贫困人口的重大问题。许多组织为了寻求这一问题的解决办法也做了大量工作,我们对此深表赞赏。虽然我们并不资助以减少碳排放为专门任务的工作,但我们许多全球性的健康和发展资助项目都在积极应对由气候变化产生或加剧的问题。比如,我们的农业发展 计划致力于通过开发耐旱耐涝型作物、提高灌溉效率以及其他手段,帮助那些日均生活费低于 1 美元的小农户适应日益增多的旱灾和水涝。

访问我们的博客

Who We Are

Foundation FAQ

Print

Q. Does the foundation accept donations?
A.
From time to time, people generously offer to contribute money to the foundation. We prefer that people give directly to our grantee organizations rather than to the foundation if they want to help advance the causes we’re passionate about. Because our financial resources, while significant, represent a small fraction of what’s needed to address these challenges, we work in partnership with governments, the private sector, and other donors and organizations to achieve the greatest possible impact.

To be responsive to those who still wish to give to the foundation, we have adopted these guidelines  for accepting donations from individuals. To be clear, the foundation does not and will not solicit donations. Our goal is not fundraising. Our goal is simply to honor the intentions of generous people.

Q. Is my organization eligible to receive funding through the foundation?
A.
See our Grant Opportunities.

Q. Do Bill, Melinda, and Warren get tax breaks for their donations to the foundation?
A.
Many individuals enjoy tax benefits as a result of making charitable contributions. The amount of tax savings received depends on both the size of the charitable contributions and the person's annual income.

Bill, Melinda, and Warren have been exceptionally generous in making contributions to the foundation, donating sums much larger than their annual incomes. As a result, the tax savings they receive from these contributions represent a very small percentage of the contributions.

From 1994 to 2006, Bill and Melinda gave the foundation more than $26 billion. Those donations resulted in a tax savings of less than 8.3 percent of the contributions they made over that time.

In 2006, Warren made the first payment on his historic gift to the foundation and claimed no tax benefit from this contribution.

Q. I received an email notification that I won a prize or lottery from Bill Gates or the foundation. Is this true?
A.
No. More information about scam emails is available here.

Q. How do I find more information about working for the foundation?
A. To learn more about employment opportunities with the foundation and how to apply, visit our Jobs section.

Q. What volunteer opportunities are associated with the foundation?
A.
Many interested volunteers contact us with offers to help. However, the foundation is a funding organization and we believe it is the organizations to which we give grants (and many others like them) that have the greatest need for volunteers. To learn more, please visit our Volunteering page.

Q. Why did you make that investment in XX company?
A. Throughout the year, we often receive questions about why a specific investment was made. Because we want to maintain a focus on the programmatic work, we do not comment on individual investment holdings. We do publish a listing of our investments  once a year with the filing of our tax return.

Q. What is the foundation doing about climate change?
A.
The foundation believes that climate change is a major issue facing all of us, particularly poor people in developing countries, and we applaud the work that others are doing to help find solutions in this area. While we do not fund efforts specifically aimed at reducing carbon emissions, many of our global health and development grants directly address problems that climate change creates or exacerbates. For example, our Agricultural Development  initiative works to help small farmers who live on less than $1 per day adapt to increased drought and flooding through the development of drought and flood resistant crops, improved irrigation efficiency, and other means.

Visit Our Blog

Connect