我们做什么

华盛顿州项目

发展之路项目

向後

打印

“发展之路”项目是一项对学生从出生到大学提供支持的社区性工作。

我们的目标:

使南国王郡和西雅图南部地区进入大学并从大学毕业或获得职业证书的学生人数在2020年增加一倍,消除机遇差距,使低收入学生和有色人种儿童获得同等机会。

挑战

要点一览

“发展之路”项目是一项南西雅图和南国王郡的集体性工作,目的是使学生在校内外都有正确的行动路线。

该项目涉及七个学区,六个高等教育机构,地方政府和上百个社区组织,教育领导者,以及教师和家长,他们组成了“发展之路”联盟。

我们通过在华盛顿州的“教育通途”项目对“发展之路”项目进行资助。

打破贫困循环的最佳途径是接受高等教育。我们知道,到2018年,华盛顿州67%的工作将要求高等教育。推动华盛顿经济的产业,如技术、科学和保健以及国际贸易等产业均要求受过良好教育的劳动力。

但我们却落后了。华盛顿州的许多儿童在开始上学时并没有做好学习的准备,许多儿童一直跟不上。在华盛顿州,仅有四分之一的学生获得大学文凭。而在实施“发展之路”的南国王郡地区,2011年,有将近三分之一的九年级学生旷课至少六天并且至少有一门课不及格;而研究表明,这些学生差不多都会辍学。

南国王郡有非常好的学校、教师和社区组织能够帮助学生获得成功。但他们之前的工作鲜有合作或协调。早期教育项目同小学的教育不相协调,中学教育同地方高等教育机构不相协调。同时,家长和社区也不知如何参与孩子的学校生活。这样的结果是,数以千计的儿童得不到继续在学校学习并毕业所需的支持,要么学习跟不上,要么辍学。

机遇

我们经济的未来取决于我们在教育方面能否弥补以前的缺陷。我们相信,无论在哪里出生,每名儿童都应该能够获得良好的教育的机会。

南国王郡的社区成员达成一致,他们紧密合作,致力于一项使学生在校内外都有一个正确的行动路线的集体性工作,这就是“发展之路”项目。七个学区,六个高等教育机构,地方政府和上百个社区组织,教育领导者,以及教师和家长参与了这一项目,共同构建一个体系,使每名学生拥有获得成功所需的机会。“发展之路”的工作是由教育成果社区中心(CCER)负责协调的。CCER将参与这项工作的许多机构和人员汇集在一起,帮助启动跨行业的项目,进行各种数据的生成和各项研究,推动项目的进行。

一个小男孩参加南国王郡育优早教中心(Educare Early Learning Center)开幕式

这种联合行动帮助“发展之路”项目涉及的学区在2012年获得了四千万美元的联邦“力争上游”计划提供的资助。这笔资助将用来拓展早期教育的机会,丰富科学和数学的学习并向中学提供资金,以便使更多的学生可以参加大学预备课程的学习并获得升学咨询。

研究表明,该地区所有的父母都想让他们的孩子上大学,并且他们认为这是可能的。我们也相信这是可能的。实现“发展之路”宏伟目标有着强大的动力,许多人共同努力,关注儿童从出生和早期教育,直至从幼儿园到12年级的整个教育过程,使其最终获得大学文凭或职业证书。

我们的策略

几年前,盖茨基金会决定采取一种新的方式来帮助更多家庭的打破贫困循环。这种新方式就是在某个特定地区关注于某个特定问题。我们选择了教育这一问题,并专注于南国王郡,因为这一地区具有多样性并且是贫困的高度密集区。

我们开始更多地了解在其它地区帮助学生取得学业成功的情况,包括纽约市的哈林儿童区(Harlem Children’s Zone)和辛辛那提州成长计划(Strive Cincinnati),在那里,人们共同努力,关注儿童“从摇篮到工作”的全过程。那些在辛辛那提工作的人这样描述他们的社区:“项目富但体系穷”。这是指各个相互独立的项目,尽管强大,不会对学生的整体成功有所帮助。在辛辛那提成长计划,我们发现一项称作集体效应的协作方法可以解决这个问题。

集体影响力的理念很简单:任何项目、组织或机构,如果单独行动,则无法带来大规模的社会和社区变化。这种变化要求我们放开视野。它需要许多人的努力,需要所有人围绕一个共同的议程和目标工作,需要以一种共同的方式衡量进步。这是“发展之路”项目最根本的理念。

“发展之路”项目的资助优先投入于包括三年级阅读在内的社区驱动型项目。

集体影响力依赖于全社会的响应,许多人为此出谋划策。我们根据积极参与“发展之路”工作的许多社区成员的计划和思路进行投资,优先在社区驱动型项目中投入资金,包括:家长和社区参与,使用数据确定目标并衡量结果,监控预警信号以确保学生不会辍学,英语学习,幼儿园准备,三年级阅读,拓展大学入学机会和提高毕业率提供支持,以及提升科学、技术工程和数学技能。

在我们的社区,每个人都能对学生的成功起到作用。“发展之路”的工作就是要说明我们如何能够通过共同努力,给予所有学生获得很好教育的机会。

重点领域

基金会对“发展之路”项目的支持包括直接向相关地区的致力于教育成果工作的机构和组织提供资金

直接支持社区机构

构建更强的体系和合作伙伴: 我们向符合“发展之路”项目的目标或支持这一目标的社区组织和教育机构提供资助。例如,西雅图社区学院区使用基金会的资助提高参加发展教育或辅导教育课程学习的学生的成功率。我们对公平教育联盟(Equal Opportunity Schools)的工作给予支持,提高中学参加大学先修(Advanced Placement)课程和国际文凭(International Baccalaureate)课程的学生的数量。公平教育联盟与学校领导及学校体系协调合作,将更多的低收入家庭和有色人种学生招入最好的学术项目中。

“发展之路”的工作旨在说明我们如何能够通过共同努力,给予所有学生获得良好教育的机会。

我们还对南国王郡多家学区提供资助,用以促进他们同家长和其它学区的协调,增强幼儿园至三年级的教师和和当地儿童看护中心的联系。

构建联盟:我们支持创设一些网络和联盟,提供协调一致的学术交流和青年参与服务。具体包括西雅图和南国王郡的大学接入网络,该网络将学区、大学以及社区组织联合在一起。我们向普吉特湾教育服务联盟(Puget Sound Educational Service District)的资助帮助社区共同为科学、技术、工程和数学(STEM)的教育和技能的提升进行规划。其它的资助则侧重于构建青年发展组织和学校之间更好的协作。

支持集体影响力的基础设施

强大的数据: 更好地使用数据有助于教育领导者和社区成员清楚地知道什么是切实有效的措施,而哪些措施是无效的。通过确定目标、跟踪效果和进行必要变更,基金会对“发展之路”的工作给予支持。2011年,“发展之路”项目的成员和顾问选取了一组指标,合并考虑这些指标,即可知晓在这一地区的学生表现如何。这些指标包括进入幼儿园做好成功准备的儿童的数量,不同年级学生的阅读熟练程度和缺勤率。缺勤率是学生可能辍学的一个重要预警。

基金会还对国王郡的青年发展执行委员会(Youth Development Executives)提供资助,以确定可以用来衡量青年学业进步的主要社会和情绪指标。目前正在同一些学区合作进行试点项目,对学生对学习的投入情况和动机进行衡量。

社区组织对“发展之路”项目的支持是通过协助辅导和其它青年项目而进行的。

强大的社区声音: “发展之路”项目的成功,需要家长、学生和社区作为一个整体的支持和参与。我们对一些组织给予资助,用以提升家长和社区成员的话语权。

例如,我们对CCER提供支持,运行“发展之路”项目小额资助基金,该基金针对涉及教育的社区项目。小额资助基金用以推动相关社区团体、组织和机构实现发展之路项目的目标:即提升从出生直至大学及工作整个过程中的教育效果。

我们还资助了一项活动,旨在加强社区对教师的支持。2011年,我们同CCER、星巴克及DonorsChoose.org合作,在“发展之路”项目中对教师的课堂教学提供关键的资金支持。通过基金会的资助,国王郡的星巴克店提供免费的DonorsChoose.org礼品卡,社区成员用此卡对DonorsChoose.org网站上发布的课堂教学材料和项目的需求提供支持。

资助的协调: 基金会是众多对CCER和“发展之路”工作提供支持的资助者之一。我们同其它资助者协作,以确定我们是否可以更好地协调我们的投资,从而取得更强的效果。三十多个资助者定期会面,讨论资助的机会以及如何使我们的资助同“发展之路”的目标相契合。

州政策的实施

为提高学生学业成绩,华盛顿州已经采取了一些重要的政策和计划。我们提供资助,帮助“发展之路”地区实施及加快制定这些重要的州政策制度,包括:

  • 早期教育和幼儿园准备的质量标准,这些标准帮助父母、早期教育提供者和教师理解孩子是否已经做好上学的准备。
  • 成功实施一项新的教师和校长评估计划,该计划向州的教师和负责人提供改善工作并更好地为学生服务的方法。
  • 扩大申请大学升学奖学金的家庭的数量,使成绩好的所有低收入家庭学生可以进入州的公立学院和大学。
访问我们的博客

What We Do

Washington State

Road Map Project

Back

Print

The Road Map Project is a community effort that support students from birth through college

Our GoaL:

double the number of students in South King County and South Seattle who are on track to and graduate from college or earn a career credential by 2020, and close the opportunity gap for low-income students and children of color.

The Challenge

At A Glance

The Road Map Project is a collective effort in South Seattle and South King County to keep students on track, both in and out of school

The project includes seven school districts, six higher education institutions, local governments, and hundreds of community organizations, education leaders, teachers, and parents make up the Road Map coalition

We support the Road Map Project through our Education Pathways work in Washington State



The best way to break the cycle of poverty is through attaining a postsecondary education. We know that, by 2018, 67 percent of all jobs in Washington State will require some postsecondary education. The industries that drive Washington’s economy—technology, science and health, and international trade—demand a well-educated workforce.

But we’re falling behind. Too many of Washington State’s children start school unprepared to learn, and many never catch up. Only one-quarter of Washington’s students will earn a college degree.  In the South King County area known as the Road Map region, in 2011 nearly one-third of all ninth-grade students missed at least six days of school and were failing at least one course. Research suggests that virtually all of these students will drop out of school.

In South King County, there are great schools, teachers, and community organizations that help students succeed. However, until recently, they were not always working together or in one coordinated system. Early learning programs did not coordinate with the elementary school grades, nor did high schools with local institutions of higher education. At the same time, parents and communities struggled to understand how they could engage with their children’s schools. As a result, thousands of children did not get the support they needed to stay engaged in school and graduate, and were left behind or falling through the cracks.

The Opportunity

Our economic future depends on our ability to educate those who prior generations have left behind. We believe that every child, no matter where they are born, deserves the opportunity to get a great education.

Community members in South King County agree. They are working closely together to build the Road Map Project, a collective effort to keep students on track, both in and out of school. Seven school districts, six higher education institutions, local governments, and hundreds of community organizations, education leaders, teachers, and parents are involved in creating a system where every student has the opportunities they need to succeed. The Road Map work is coordinated by a community organization called The Community Center for Education Results (CCER). CCER helps to bring together the many organizations and people contributing to this work, helps to create cross-sector projects, and generates data and research to help the project move forward.

A young boy attends the opening of the Educare Early Learning Center in South King County.

This strong coalition helped the Road Map school districts secure a $40 million federal Race to the Top district grant in 2012, which will be used to expand early learning opportunities, enrich science and math learning, and offer support to high schools so more students can take college-prep courses and receive college advising.

Research indicates that parents throughout the region want their children to go to college, and they believe it is possible. We also believe it is possible. There is strong momentum to reach the Road Map’s ambitious goals, and a collective dedication to focus on a child’s entire education pathway—supporting students from birth and early learning, through their K-12 education experience, and on to achieving a college degree or career credential.

Our Strategy

A few years ago, the Gates Foundation decided to take a new approach to ending the cycle of poverty for more families by focusing on a particular issue, and in a defined region. We chose education and focused on South King County because of its diversity and high concentrations of poverty.

We began to learn more about success in other regions, including the Harlem Children’s Zone in New York City, and Strive Cincinnati, which put together a coalition to work from “cradle to career.” Those working in Cincinnati used a phrase about their community that resonated: they said they were “program rich but system poor.” This meant that isolated pockets of strong programs were not adding up to overall success for students. Strive Cincinnati found that a collaborative approach called collective impact was a solution for this problem.

The idea of collective impact is simple: A single program, organization, or institution cannot bring about large-scale social and community change alone. This change requires us to think beyond silos. It requires the efforts of many people—all banding together around a common agenda and goal, and a common way to measure progress. This concept is fundamental to the Road Map Project.

The Road Map Project focuses on community-driven priorities, including third-grade reading.

Collective impact also relies on the wisdom of many members in the community—not just leaders in the highest positions, but parents, teachers, and many others. The investments made by the Gates Foundation are guided by the plans and ideas of hundreds of community members actively engaged in Road Map work groups. Community-driven priorities include parent and community engagement; using data to set targets and rigorously measure results; monitoring early-warning signs to make sure students do not fall through the cracks; support for English-language learners; kindergarten readiness; third-grade reading; expansion of college access and raising completion rates; and improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) skills.

Everyone has a role to play in the success of students in our communities. The work of the Road Map is helping to show how we can work, collectively, to give all students the chance for a great education.

Areas of Focus

The foundation supports the Road Map effort by providing funding directly to the institutions and organizations working on educational outcomes in the region.

Direct Support to Community Institutions

Building Stronger Systems and Partners. We make grants to community organizations and educational institutions that align to and support the goals of the Road Map Project. For example, the Seattle Community College District is using a foundation grant to increase the success of students taking developmental education—or remedial—courses. We support Equal Opportunity Schools’ efforts to increase the numbers of students taking Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate courses in high school. Equal Opportunity Schools is an organization that works with leaders of schools and school systems to enroll more low-income students and students of color in the best academic programs.

The work of the Road Map is helping to show how we can work, collectively, to give all students the chance for a great education.

We also provide grant funding to multiple school districts in South King County seeking to improve their engagement with parents, and to other districts that are increasing the connections between kindergarten through third-grade teachers and their local child care centers.

Building Alliances. We support the creation of networks and alliances that provide coordinated academic and youth engagement services. This includes college access networks in Seattle and South King County, which bring together school districts, colleges, and community-based organizations. Our grant to the Puget Sound Educational Service District helps bring the community together to plan for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education and careers. Other grants focus on building better collaborations between youth development organizations and schools.

Support for the Infrastructure of Collective Impact

Strong Data. Better use of data helps education leaders and community members see clearly what is working and what is not. The foundation supports the Road Map Project’s work to set targets, track results, and make changes as necessary. In 2011, Road Map Project members and advisors selected a set of on-track indicators that, when taken together, give a view of how students in the region are doing. Indicators include the number of children who enter kindergarten ready to succeed, reading proficiency levels at various grades, and absenteeism rates—an early warning that a student is more likely to drop out.

The foundation also funds the Youth Development Executives of King County to determine what key social and emotional indicators of youth academic progress can be tracked. Pilots are now under way in collaboration with school districts on measures of things like student engagement and motivation.

Community organizations support the Road Map through tutoring assistance and other youth programs.

Powerful Community Voice. To be successful, the Road Map Project needs the support and engagement of parents, students, and the community as a whole. We fund a number of organizations working to elevate the voice of parents and community members.

For example, we provide support to CCER to run the Road Map Project Small Grants Fund for education-related community projects. The Small Grants Fund is used to boost community groups, organizations, and institutions that are committed to achieving the Road Map Project goal of improving education results from cradle to college and career.

We also supported a campaign to increase community support of teachers. In 2011, we worked with CCER, Starbucks, and DonorsChoose.org to provide critical funding for teachers’ classrooms throughout the Road Map. Through a foundation grant, King County Starbucks stores provided free DonorsChoose.org gift cards, which community members used to support requests for classroom materials and projects posted on the DonorsChoose.org website.

Funding Alignment. The foundation is one of many funders supporting CCER and the Road Map work. We work with these other funders to see if we can better align our investments to achieve results that are more powerful. More than 30 funders meet regularly to discuss funding opportunities and how to align our grantmaking to the goals of the Road Map.

Implementation of Statewide Policies

To boost student achievement, Washington State has adopted a number of important policies and programs. We provide grants that help the Road Map region implement and accelerate the adoption of these key state-level policies, which include:

  • Quality standards for early learning and kindergarten readiness that help parents, early learning providers, and teachers understand how well prepared children are for school.
  • Successful implementation of a new teacher and principal evaluation program to give teachers and leaders ways to improve their practice and serve students better.
  • Expanding the number of families who apply for College Bound Scholarships, which allow all low-income students who maintain good grades to attend our state’s public colleges and universities.
Visit Our Blog

Connect