我们做什么

华盛顿州项目

社区强化项目

向後

打印

一家人在西雅图南部的育优早教中心(Educare Early Learning Center)开幕式上

我们的目标:

提高华盛顿州慈善和非盈利机构的效益,加强地方社区的能力,从而为弱势家庭和儿童创造机会。

挑战

要点一览

我们致力于加强当地的慈善机构,因为这些机构能够动员其社区创造机会和方法应对当地的挑战。

为了增加非盈利技术协助并提高其质量,我们对服务提供者和其它机构提供支持,提高他们的组织有效性,以更好地满足弱势人群的需求。

解决办法常常来自于直接与家庭有联系的人或来自家庭本身。正因为此,我们定期听取地方组织的意见和建议。

强化社区的工作是盖茨基金会在华盛顿州最重要的工作之一。

华盛顿州是一个创新中心,也是全球一些最成功的公司的所在地,但却一直存在社会不平等和贫穷的问题。在该州任何一个晚上都会有20,000多个无家可归者,其中一半是无家可归的家庭。每四个儿童中就有一个儿童的家庭在为房租、水电、食物等基本需求而挣扎。

如果他们的生活困境得不到解决,华盛顿州许多低收入家庭的儿童在进入幼儿园时就不具备一个好的开始所需的必要能力,有34%的学生没能从高中毕业。这些年轻人和许多家长没有做好竞争该州大量好工作的准备,因为这些工作大多要求大学文凭或证书。

贫穷和教育甚至在经济较好的时候都是需要解决的具有挑战性的问题。州和地方的家庭扶持体系常常不相协调,没有解决根本原因,所以也无法预防问题的发生。正在发生的州预算危机更加表明,各体系和部门需要努力以便有一个更有效的方法。

机遇

一群年轻人参加华盛顿斯波坎的青年发展计划(YouthBuild),在学习工作技能的同时获得高中文凭。

没有一个单一的可以打破贫穷循环的办法。通过帮助创造社区条件,对地区最弱势家庭在关键方面提供帮助,我们可以给他们创造更多的机会获得稳定住房、就业、建设一个有保障的未来并养育将来在学校和生活中都能成功的健康和自信的孩子。

华盛顿州有很多服务提供者、政府部门、教育机构和社区组织专门对弱势家庭和低收入学生进行支持。

为了增加在社区层面的影响力,这些组织和项目需要很好地合作,他们需要适应从其工作中获益的家庭的需要,同时他们需要有可靠资金来源和公共政策,用以支持他们的工作。

我们的策略

我们的策略是同公共、私人和非盈利领域(包括地区和地方的慈善社区)的合作伙伴共同努力,为华盛顿的每个儿童和家庭创造机会。我们的大多数地方资助侧重于给儿童提供更好的教育并消除无家可归的家庭现象,但我们同时也相信,强大的、组织有序的和包容的社区能够更有效地帮助家庭和儿童充分发挥他们的潜力。

强大的社区需要有创造机会并解决它们自身问题的能力。我们致力于加强社区基金会和联合劝募组织等慈善机构,因为这些合作伙伴最了解他们当地的社区。我们还进行以强化渠道为目的的支持,通过这些渠道,非盈利机构和社区的领导人获得关于组织有效性的技术帮助和一般知识。有了卓有成效的地方合作伙伴,我们能更好地理解并解决弱势家庭的需求。

重点领域

我们相信,拥有恰当的工具和资源,地方社区最能满足其居民的需要、解决问题并为其居民创造机会。我们投入的目的是为了支持这些工作。

建设社区公益

为解决家庭和儿童的当务之急并发展强大的社区合作关系,我们向地区资金提供组织直接提供资助,这些组织包括社区基金会、联合劝募组织和同特定目标人群合作的资金提供组织。这些合作伙伴利用他们对当地的了解和强大的网络解决他们社区的特定需求,并且在许多情况下,他们将基金会的资金转资助给更小的非盈利机构、地方项目和社区建设计划。

在南国王郡,社区成员参加Greenbridge混合收入住房发展课程。

建设社区公益始于2012年,该行动通过同社区合作伙伴合作,将基金会的资金进行转资助,用以支持我们的中心目标:减少跨代贫穷的。

蓝山社区基金会
华盛顿西南社区基金会
华盛顿中北社区基金会
南普吉特湾社区基金会
大埃弗雷特社区基金会
大塔科马港市社区基金会
西北内陆社区基金会
波特拉奇基金
骄傲基金会
西雅图基金会
斯波坎郡联合劝募组织
本顿和富兰克林郡联合劝募组织
中央华盛顿联合劝募组织
奇兰和道格拉斯郡联合劝募组织
国王郡联合劝募组织
斯诺霍密什郡联合劝募组织
哥伦比亚-威拉米特(波特兰)联合劝募组织
沃特科姆社区基金会
亚基马谷社区基金会

这些组织用我们的资助支持一系列的项目。通过这种方式,基金会使地方社区得以确定并按照它们自己的方式为弱势家庭创造机遇。

  • 解决低收入家庭的当务之急
  • 增强社区对地方慈善决定的参与
  • 加强非盈利机构服务低收入家庭的网络
  • 扩大社区公益组织的协作和领导作用

较之单纯的直接资助而言,我们希望通过向地方合作伙伴提供开支经费的方式给更多的家庭带来变化。

我们在华盛顿州的许多投入侧重于普吉特湾地区,在那里有最多的需要帮助的人。我们的建设社区公益行动将基金会的工作扩大至华盛顿州中部、东部和西南部。这些中间机构所联系的人达到了该州所有贫困人口的百分之九十。

强化慈善领域

此外,我们还向协助弱势家庭和低收入学生提供工作能力的服务提供者和社区组织提供帮助。我们的慈善领域支持投入旨在强化一些渠道,通过这些渠道,非盈利机构和社区的领导人得以对组织有效性和强大的社区合作有所了解并获得技术帮助。

学生在在俄勒冈的波特兰参加美国原住民青年和家庭中心的青年辅导课

通过更多提供非盈利技术协助并提高非盈利技术协助的质量,我们帮助我们的合作伙伴更好地服务弱势人群并对他们的项目成果进行严格的衡量和评估。我们支持了三家核心的技术协助支持者和领域层面的倡导者,这些提供者和倡导者在华盛顿州的慈善领域提供这些至关重要的服务。

  • 西北慈善是一家地区资助者协会。该协会提倡、促进并推动慈善组织之间的协同行动,以强化该地区的社区。我们对西北慈善的资助主要是就其社区基金会行动进行合作,该项目帮助全州的社区基金会加强能力建设。
  • 华盛顿非盈利组织是一家州协会。它代表全州50,000多家非盈利机构进行决策制定,使它们更多地获得项目和资金,并有相应的服务和计划来提高它们的能力。
  • 501 Commons是一家能力建设机构,负责管理州非盈利资源目录。这是一个在线目录,帮助非盈利机构寻找各种能力建设项目的适格顾问和最佳实务的信息。

我们还同其它资助者合作,扩大我们对地方非盈利机构的支持。我们合作的机构有Campion 基金会、Empire Health基金会、Medina基金会、M.J. Murdock慈善信托、Paul G. Allen家庭基金会、西雅图基金会、Sherwood信托以及西雅图社会创业合伙人(Social Venture Partners Seattle)。通过与这些机构合作,盖茨基金会帮助启动了州能力协作行动,对强化华盛顿非盈利机构的项目进行资助。基于诸如华盛顿州能力建设评估等领域层面的研究结果,我们共同对能力建设项目进行资助

支持美国原住民社区

华盛顿州有着多元化的丰富历史,西北太平洋部落群是其最早的部落。自2002年以来,基金会向部落群、原住民非盈利机构和其它主要合作伙伴提供资助,在技术、教育、青年发展、公共事业以及艺术和文化方面给以支持。

从2010年开始,我们同美国原住民领导人一道为西北太平洋地区的儿童确定新兴的机遇和优先项目,以便他们有更强有力的家庭和更好的发展。为确保美国原住民社区的长期成功发展,社区领导人不断强调对青年人投入的重要性。为此,我们在2012年3月向社区合作伙伴发出邀请,希望了解他们将如何促进对年轻人的教育成果。

随之而来的对部落群、美国原住民非盈利机构和教育机构的资助对许多社区驱动的行动予以支持,以促进原住民年轻人的教育成果。艺术、文化和语言保护方面的项目帮助培养自豪感和更强的认同,并最终提高学生的在校率和教育成果。受资助者还提供文化适宜性服务,使家庭参与到其孩子的教育中。他们致力于加强原住民教育工作者的培养,提高学校教职员的文化能力,并将原住民的真实历史纳入学校教学中。最终,这些受资助者也能够为原住民学生创造从学校到职业生涯的通途,为他们创造机会获得有意义的职业,包括对其自身部落社区有所贡献或有所支持的职业。

除这些投入外,我们继续向原住民和其他学生提供奖学金机会,这些奖学金包括盖茨千禧奖学金、华盛顿州成功者奖学金(Washington State Achievers)和 Rainier奖学金。

听取社区意见和协作

最好的想法经常来自于直接接触学生和家庭的我们的合作伙伴,所以我们经常听取他们的建议。我们每年两次审核华盛顿州和波特兰的机构提交的报告,关注社区参与提高学生成功的情况。

我们收集有关社区和学校协作的建议,提升低收入学生在校内外的教育成功。我们寻找有效的计划和研究,促进人们对家庭和社区对学生从幼儿教育到大学全过程中成功所起作用的了解。 这方面资助的信息见基金会网站。

通过合作伙伴提供资助

其它资助还可以通过我们当地的合作伙伴和受资助者获得。这些资助的重点为地方社区发展、教育、无家可归和住房以及减少贫穷。对此感兴趣的机构可以到基金会网站了解更多情况

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Washington State

Strengthening Communities

Back

Print

A family having fun at the opening of the Educare Early Learning Center in South Seattle

Our Goal:

increase the effectiveness of the philanthropic and nonprofit sectors in Washington State and to increase the capacity of local communities to create opportunities for vulnerable families and children.

THE CHALLENGE

At A Glance

We work to strengthen local philanthropic institutions, because these partners are well positioned to mobilize their communities to create opportunity and solutions to local challenges.

By increasing the quality and availability of nonprofit technical assistance, we support service providers and other institutions in improving their organizational effectiveness to better meet the needs of vulnerable populations.

Solutions often come from those who work directly with families, or from families themselves. That is why we regularly seek ideas and input from local organizations.

Our Strengthening Communities work is one of the Gates Foundation’s top priorities in Washington State.

Washington State is a center of innovation and home to some of the most successful businesses in the world, but problems of social inequity and poverty persist. More than 20,000 people are homeless on any given night in our state; families comprise almost half of this number. About one child in four has a family that struggles to pay for basic needs such as rent, food, and utilities. 

When adversity in their lives goes unaddressed, many low-income children in Washington enter school without the skills necessary for a strong start, and 34 percent never graduate from high school. These young people and many of their parents are not prepared to compete for the abundance of good jobs available in this state, most of which require a college degree or postsecondary certificate. 

Even in better economic times, poverty and education are challenging issues to address. Too often, the state and local family support systems are not aligned and do not address root causes in order to prevent problems before they happen. The ongoing state budget crisis underscores the need to work across systems and sectors to embrace a more effective way of doing business.

The Opportunity

There is no single solution to breaking the cycle of poverty. By helping to create community conditions that support the region’s most vulnerable families in critical ways, we can increase their chances of having stable housing, finding employment, building a secure future, and raising healthy, confident children who will succeed in school, college, and life. 

Young men participating in the YouthBuild program in Spokane, Washington, to obtain their high school diploma while learning job skills.

Washington State has many dedicated service providers, government agencies, educational institutions, and community organizations that support vulnerable families and low-income students. 

To increase their impact at the community level, these organizations and programs need to work well together, they need to be shaped by the families that benefit from their work, and they need reliable sources of funding and public policies that support their work.


A mother and her son inside their home in Arlington.

Our Strategy

Our strategy is to work with partners in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors—including the regional and local philanthropic community—to create pathways to opportunity for every child and family in Washington. While most of our local grants focus on giving children a great education and ending family homelessness, we also believe that strong, well organized and inclusive communities can more effectively help families and children reach their full potential. 

Strong communities need the capacity to create opportunity and to solve their own problems. We work to strengthen local philanthropic institutions, such as community foundations and United Way organizations, because these partners know their local communities best. We also make investments aimed at strengthening the channels through which nonprofits and community leaders access technical assistance and general knowledge about organizational effectiveness. With effective local partners, we are better able to understand and address the needs of vulnerable families.

Areas of Focus

We believe that with the right tools and resources, local communities are best suited to meet needs, solve challenges, and create opportunities for their residents. Our investments aim to bolster those efforts.

Building Community Philanthropy

To address the immediate needs of families and children, and to develop strong community partnerships, we provide direct grants to regional funding organizations, such as community foundations, United Ways, and funding organizations that work with specific target populations. These partners use their local knowledge and strong networks to address the unique needs of their communities—and in many cases they re-grant foundation funds to smaller nonprofits, local projects, and community-building initiatives. 

Community members participate in a class at the Greenbridge mixedincome housing development in South King County.

Launched in 2012, our Building Community Philanthropy initiative works with community partners to re-grant foundation funds in support of our overarching goal of reducing intergenerational poverty:

Blue Mountain Community Foundation
Community Foundation for Southwest Washington
Community Foundation of North Central Washington
The Community Foundation of South Puget Sound
Greater Everett Community Foundation
Greater Tacoma Community Foundation
Inland Northwest Community Foundation
Potlatch Fund
Pride Foundation
The Seattle Foundation
Spokane County United Way
United Way of Benton & Franklin Counties
United Way of Central Washington
United Way of Chelan & Douglas Counties
United Way of King County
United Way of Snohomish County
United Way of the Columbia-Willamette (Portland)
Whatcom Community Foundation
Yakima Valley Community Foundation

These organizations re-grant our funding to support a range of projects. Through this initiative, the foundation aims to empower local communities to identify and pursue their own approaches to create opportunities for vulnerable families:

  • Meeting immediate needs of low-income families 
  • Increasing community engagement in local philanthropic decisions
  • Strengthening regional networks of nonprofits serving low-income families 
  • Expanding collaboration and leadership roles of community philanthropy

By providing funds for local partners to disburse, we aim to impact more families than we can through direct grantmaking alone. 

Many of our investments in Washington State focus on the Puget Sound region, where we see the largest concentration of people in need. Our Building Community Philanthropy initiative expands the foundation’s geographic reach to include Central, Eastern, and Southwest Washington. These intermediary organizations reach 90 percent of all individuals in poverty in the state.

Strengthening the Charitable Sector

In addition, we help service providers and community organizations that assist vulnerable families and low-income students to increase the efficacy of their work. Our Charitable Sector Support investments aim to strengthen the channels through which nonprofits and community leaders access knowledge and technical assistance about organizational effectiveness and strong community partnerships. 

Students participate in a youth tutoring session at the Native American Youth and Family Center in Portland, Oregon.

By increasing the quality and availability of nonprofit technical assistance, we support our partners to better serve vulnerable populations, and in rigorously measuring and evaluating their program results. We support three core technical assistance providers and sector level advocates that provide these critical services to the charitable sector in Washington State:

  • Philanthropy Northwest is a regional association of grantmakers that promotes, facilitates, and drives collaborative action by philanthropic organizations to strengthen communities in our region. A key component of our support to Philanthropy Northwest is our collaboration on their Community Foundation Initiative, which provides capacity-building assistance to community foundations across the state. 
  • Washington Nonprofits is a statewide association that provides the more than 50,000 nonprofits in our state with better representation in policy decisions, improved access to programs and funds, and access to services and programs to build their capacity. 
  • 501 Commons is a capacity-building institution that manages the Statewide Nonprofit Resource Directory, an online directory for nonprofits seeking vetted consultants and best practice information for various capacity-building projects.

We also collaborate with other funders to expand our ability to support local nonprofits. Along with the Campion Foundation, Empire Health Foundation, Medina Foundation, M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust, the Paul G. Allen Family Foundation, the Seattle Foundation, Sherwood Trust, and Social Venture Partners Seattle, the Gates Foundation helped launch the Statewide Capacity Collaborative, which funds projects that strengthen Washington nonprofits. Together, we fund capacity-building projects based on findings from sector-level research, like the Assessment of Capacity Building in Washington State.

Supporting Native American Communities

Washington State has a diverse and rich history, which begins with the Tribes of the Pacific Northwest. Since 2002, the foundation has provided grants to Tribes, Native nonprofits, and other key partners to support technology access, education, youth development, human services, as well as arts and culture. 

Beginning in 2010, we worked with Native American leaders to identify emerging opportunities and priorities for programs that would lead to stronger families and better outcomes for children in the Pacific Northwest. Community leaders continually emphasized the importance of investing in young people to ensure the long-term success of Native American communities. In response, we issued an invitation in March 2012 for community partners to tell us how they would work to improve educational outcomes for young people. 

The resulting grants to Tribes, Native nonprofits, and education institutions support a range of community-driven approaches to improving outcomes for Native youth. Arts, culture, and language preservation programs help develop pride, stronger identities, and ultimately contribute to higher student retention and educational outcomes. Grantees also provide culturally competent services to engage families in their children’s education. They are working to strengthen Native educators, to improve the cultural competency of or school staff, and are incorporating accurate representation of Native history and culture into school curricula. Finally, these grantees are also creating school-to-career pathways that provide Native students with opportunities that lead to meaningful professions, including those that contribute to— or are supportive of—their own tribal communities. 

In addition to these investments, we continue to provide scholarship opportunities for Native and other students, including Gates Millennium Scholars, Washington State Achievers, and Rainier Scholars.

Sourcing Community Ideas and Collaborations

The best ideas often come from our partners who work directly with students and families, and we regularly seek their input. Twice a year, we review submissions from Washington State and Portland-based organizations looking to engage communities to improve student success. 

We seek ideas for community and school collaborations that can enhance educational success for low-income students both during and outside of school hours. We look for effective programs and research that advance understanding about the impact of family and community on student achievement from early childhood through college. Information about funding for such ideas is available on the foundation website.

Grant Opportunities through Our Partners

Additional grant opportunities may be available through our local partners and grantees. These opportunities focus on local community support, education, homelessness and housing, and poverty reduction. Organizations interested in learning more can visit the foundation’s website.

Visit Our Blog

Connect