我们做什么

被忽视的热带病

策略概览

打印

加纳采取积极的公共卫生措施,于2011年实现了麦地那龙线虫病的根除,该疾病通过水生寄生虫传播。

我们的目标:

通过有针对性和有效的控制、消除和根除工作,减轻被忽视热带病给世界最贫困人口造成的负担。

挑战

情况一览

被忽视的热带病影响全球10亿人口,最贫困、最脆弱的群体往往受害最深。尽管目前我们具备有效的治疗和控制方法,但仍需投入更多资金,改善药物递送和诊断工具,从而改进“疾病地图”绘制和监测。

我们与合作伙伴携手开发和提供新的工具,以应对影响被忽视群体的热带病。我们关注最有可能被消除或根除的疾病,并且利用捐赠药物。此外,我们还通过支持公共健康监测、病媒控制以及群体药物治疗来抗击多种疾病。

在发展中国家有超过10亿人身患被忽视的热带病,而这些疾病在富裕国家非常罕见,因此很少能够获得捐助。

这些被忽视的热带病(NTD)能够引起贫血和失明、阻碍儿童成长发育、导致认知障碍和难产。每年有数万人因患有这类疾病而死亡。极端贫困人口常常同时身患多种此类疾病,这会影响他们的谋生和脱贫能力。

由于被忽视的热带病是数十个贫困国家的一个重大公共卫生负担,我们必须着手应对以便完成联合国可持续发展目标。

机遇

目前有一部分被忽视的热带病已存在安全有效的治疗和控制方法。但挑战在于难以普及到发展中国家的贫困偏远社群,那里的人们很难获得医疗服务。

虽然这方面有困难,但近年来部分被忽视热带病的抗击工作较为成功,让我们相信采取战略性、创新性、合作性以及持久性的行动能够控制、消除甚至根除多种此类疾病。

2015年报告的麦地那龙线虫病病例为22例,仅在四个国家发现,降到了历史最低水平。淋巴丝虫病(象皮病)是一种蚊子传播的寄生虫病,患者人数为1.2亿人,而自2000年起,针对该病已经实施了超过50亿次治疗。

抗击淋巴丝虫病取得的进展离不开全球联盟的支持,该联盟提供的药物来自默克、卫材和葛兰素史克公司的捐赠。尽管缺乏经济动机,这些制药公司仍增加了捐赠药物数量,同时支持抗击被忽视热带病的研发工作。

公私部门日益坚定的决心有助于进一步加快进程。2012年1月,由基金会、13家制药公司、美国、英国和阿联酋政府、世界银行以及其他全球卫生组织签署了《关于被忽视的热带病的伦敦宣言》(以下简称“《伦敦宣言》”),由此启动了全球范围内的相关工作,旨在于2020年之前控制、消除或根除10种被忽视的热带病。这一进程帮助我们形成了抗击被忽视热带病的战略框架。

我们的战略

抗击被忽视的热带病是比尔及梅琳达·盖茨基金会的一项重要任务。基金会确保我们的投入与捐助国政府和发展中国家所做的工作形成互补,而后者是抗击此类疾病的最大资金来源。

我们将资源集中投入到缺乏现有资金的地区,在这些地区,我们的资助有可能起到催化作用,并且我们比其他组织具备更强的风险承受能力。到目前为止,基金会已向相关机构发放了超过10.2亿美元的资助,这些机构正在开发新的工具和递送方式来普及这些工具。除此之外,我们还倡导国际社会增加资金投入以支持上述工作。

许多热带疾病都可视为被忽视的疾病,因此我们的投资针对那些影响范围大、严重程度深的疾病,给发展中国家造成严重社会和经济负担的疾病,以及通过可行性战略干预措施最有可能消除或根除的疾病。

我们目前主要着眼于《伦敦宣言》中所详述的10种被忽视的热带病,并且针对每种疾病所特有的挑战来制定不同的抗击方法。

重点领域

存在重大机遇的目标

虽然我们着眼于抗击10种被忽视的热带疾病,基金会的大部分资金用于防治7种最有可能得到消除或根除的疾病。我们支持开发和提供新型药物、疫苗、诊断方法、病媒控制工具以及项目实施途径,并根据各种疾病的不同情况对投资进行调整。

我们的投资主要着眼于开发新的治疗手段、工具和控制措施,也着眼于如何普及它们。

盘尾丝虫病(河盲症)就是一个存在重大机遇的目标。该疾病由寄生性蠕虫引起并通过黑蝇叮咬传播给人类。大约有3700万人患有这种疾病,主要集中在非洲,但通过大规模分发捐赠药物伊维菌素,很多非洲和南美地区的病情得到消除。

然而,伊维菌素仅能杀灭幼虫,而无法杀灭成虫,因而后者得以继续繁殖,传播疾病。因此患者需要在十年或更长的时间内,每年接受一次甚至两次药物治疗。另一个难题是,西非有数百万人感染眼丝虫病(罗阿丝虫病),无法耐受伊维菌素,这些人如患河盲症则没有有效疗法。

我们致力于使用当前药物,在可行的范围内协助消除盘尾丝虫病。我们也支持相关工作,开发新型疗法,包括用于控制疾病传播的新方法,以及可杀灭成虫并能用于眼丝虫患者的新型药物。

我们也致力于防治淋巴丝虫病,该病由寄生虫引起,通过蚊子传播。据估计该病有1.2亿患者,全球每六人中就有一人正受到这种致残疾病的威胁。

由于相关工作深入了偏远社区,超过6亿患者接受了淋巴丝虫病的治疗。为了让所有患者都能接受治疗,我们需要了解患者的位置,因此我们投入资金,用于监测和绘制精准“疾病地图”。而在这之前,埃塞俄比亚受淋巴丝虫病威胁的人数估计达到3000万人,而通过绘制地图,这一数字被减少到了600万人,这样一来可以节省价值数亿美元的药物。

与此同时,研究人员正在进行淋巴丝虫病和盘尾丝虫病的药物临床实验,通过试验不同药物组合、剂量和用药频率来获得更好的疗效。

我们关注的其他存在重大机遇的疾病包括:内脏利什曼病(黑热病)、通过土壤传播的肠虫病(钩虫、蛔虫以及鞭虫)、血吸虫病、麦地那龙线虫病以及非洲人类锥虫病(昏睡病)。

综合措施

无国界医生组织(Médecins Sans Frontières)设在乌干达农村地区的被忽视热带疾病筛查和治疗所。

我们支持相关工作开发新的方法,以协调、综合的方式同时抗击多种传染病。我们主要关注三大重点领域:

  • 群体药物治疗:有的地区几种传染病同时流行且可以使用相同药物或类似药物治疗方案进行治疗,我们致力帮助这些地区协调各方面事宜,包括获取药物捐赠来支持大规模药物治疗项目。这样的方式可以用于控制5种我们致力于解决的被忽视热带病,包括河盲症、淋巴丝虫病、通过土壤传播的肠虫病、血吸虫病以及沙眼。
  • 公共健康监测:良好的数据至关重要——例如疾病在哪些地区流行于人类、苍蝇、蠕虫或其他病媒中。由于很多被忽视的热带病都缺乏此类数据,我们正在寻求统一的解决方案,例如样本收集和处理方法、数据合并,以及可以精确定位受威胁人群的监测系统和精准地图绘制系统的设计。我们致力于解决的4种被忽视的热带疾病,包括昏睡病、利什曼病、南美锥虫病以及麻风病,可以通过筛检受威胁人群和治疗感染病患来加以控制。
  • 病媒控制:大多数被忽视的热带疾病是由昆虫或蠕虫引发或传播的,这些病媒的控制费用高、控制难度大。然而,上述所有病媒的控制措施相似,因此我们可以通过进行多方面协调来提升工作效率。我们支持设立一个跨疾病协作框架来提高病媒控制措施的覆盖率,包括整合NTD和非NTD的工具。例如,昏睡病和疟疾可以使用同一种诊断测试,因为两种病症早期发病显症相似。

十大目标疾病

  • 南美锥虫病
  • 麦地那龙线虫病*
  • 人类非洲锥虫病(昏睡病)*
  • 利什曼病(黑热病)*
  • 麻风病
  • 淋巴丝虫病(象皮病)*
  • 盘尾丝虫病(河盲症)*
  • 血吸虫病(蜗牛热)*
  • 通过土壤传播的肠虫病(钩虫、蛔虫、鞭虫)*
  • 沙眼

* 存在重大机遇的目标

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Neglected Tropical Diseases

Strategy Overview


In Ghana, aggressive public health efforts led to the 2011 eradication of guinea worm disease, which is spread by a water-borne parasite.

our goal:

Reduce the burden of neglected tropical diseases on the world's poorest people through targeted and effective control, elimination, and eradication efforts.

The Challenge

At A Glance

Neglected tropical diseases (NTDs) affect one billion people worldwide, and the poorest and most vulnerable communities suffer the most. While effective treatment and control methods are available, we need more investments in drug delivery and diagnostic tools that will improve disease-mapping and surveillance.

We work with our partners to develop and deliver new tools to address tropical diseases affecting neglected populations. We focus on diseases that present the greatest opportunity for elimination or eradication, and we make use of donated drugs. We also accelerate progress by supporting public-health surveillance, vector control, and the mass drug administration of drugs against multiple diseases.

More than 1 billion people in developing countries suffer from infectious diseases that attract little donor funding, largely because those diseases are rare in wealthier countries.

These neglected tropical diseases, or NTDs, cause anemia and blindness, stunt children’s growth, lead to cognitive impairments, complicate pregnancies, and result in thousands of deaths each year. People living in extreme poverty often suffer from more than one of these diseases at the same time, which affects their ability to make a living and move out of poverty.

Because this public health burden affects dozens of poor countries, we must address NTDs in order to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals.

The Opportunity

Today, we have safe, effective treatments and control methods to fight some NTDs. The challenge is reaching poor and hard-to-reach communities in developing countries where people have little access to healthcare.

Despite this, recent efforts to combat some of these diseases have been successful, giving us hope that strategic, innovative, collaborative, and sustained action can control, eliminate, or even eradicate some of the NTDs.

In 2015, cases of dracunculiasis (guinea worm disease) fell to a historic low of 22, contained in just four countries. While 120 million people are infected with mosquito-borne lymphatic filariasis (elephantiasis), more than 5 billion treatments have been delivered since 2000.

The progress against lymphatic filariasis came as a result of a global alliance that delivered drugs donated by Merck, Eisai, and GlaxoSmithKline. Despite limited economic incentives, those pharmaceutical companies have increased their donations and supported research and development on NTDs.

Growing resolve within the public and private sectors can accelerate progress even further. In January 2012, the foundation; 13 pharmaceutical companies; the governments of the United States, United Kingdom, and United Arab Emirates; the World Bank; and other global health organizations signed the London Declaration on Neglected Tropical Diseases, launching a global push to control, eliminate, or eradicate 10 NTDs by the end of the decade. This has since shaped the framework for our strategy to fight NTDs.

Our Strategy

Battling NTDs is a priority for our foundation, and we make sure our investments complement the work of donor governments and developing countries, which provide most of the funding to combat these diseases.

We concentrate on areas where existing funds are scarce, where our support can have a catalytic effect, and where we are better positioned than others to assume risks. To date, our team has committed more than US$1.02 billion in grants to organizations developing new tools and methods of delivery that make these tools widely available. We also advocate for increased international funding to support these efforts.

Many tropical diseases could be considered neglected, so we target our investments toward diseases that are large in scale and severity, that impose significant social and economic burdens on developing countries, and that have the greatest likelihood of elimination or eradication through strategic, feasible interventions.

We currently target the 10 NTDs specified in the London Declaration, and we vary our approach based on the unique challenges of each disease.

Areas of Focus

High-Opportunity Targets

While we are targeting 10 NTDs, most of our funding goes toward the seven that present the greatest opportunity for elimination or eradication. We support the development and delivery of new drugs, vaccines, diagnostics, vector-control tools, and program approaches, and we tailor our investments to each disease.

Our investments focus on the development of new treatments, tools, and control measures, and on ways to make them widely available.

One high-opportunity target is onchocerciasis (river blindness), which is caused by a parasitic worm transmitted to humans by black fly bites. Approximately 37 million people are infected, primarily in Africa, but mass distribution of the donated drug ivermectin has helped eliminate the disease in many parts of Africa and South America.

However, because this drug kills only worm larvae, adult worms can reproduce and spread the disease. As a result, people infected with the disease must repeat treatment up to twice a year for a decade or more. Another challenge is that millions of people in West Africa are infected by eye worm (also known as loa loa), which makes them unable to tolerate ivermectin. For these people, there is no effective treatment for river blindness.

Where possible, we are working to help eliminate river blindness with current drugs. We also support efforts to develop new treatments, including new methods of controlling disease transmission and a new drug that would attack adult worms and could be used for patients with eye worm.

We are also targeting lymphatic filariasis, a mosquito-transmitted disease caused by parasitic worms. An estimated 120 million people are infected, and one in six people globally is at risk of this disabling disease.

Thanks to efforts to reach remote communities, more than 600 million people have received lymphatic filariasis treatment. To reach the rest, we need to understand where affected people live, so we invest in surveillance and precision-mapping. Until recently, the number of people at risk of lymphatic filariasis in Ethiopia had been estimated at 30 million; mapping showed that the estimate should be reduced to 6 million—saving hundreds of millions of dollars’ worth of drugs.

Meanwhile, researchers are conducting clinical trials on the administration of lymphatic filariasis and onchocerciasis drugs in different combinations, dosages, and frequency to achieve better results.

The other high-opportunity diseases we target are visceral leishmaniasis (black fever), soil-transmitted helminthiases (hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm), schistosomiasis, dracunculiasis (guinea worm), and human African trypanosomiasis (known as HAT or sleeping sickness).

Integrated Efforts

We support efforts to develop new ways to attack multiple infectious diseases at the same time in a coordinated and integrated fashion. We focus on three main areas:

  • A Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders) screening and treatment site for NTDs in rural Uganda.

    Mass drug administration: We support coordinated efforts in areas with a prevalence of several infectious diseases that can be treated with the same drugs or a similar schedule of treatments. This includes obtaining donations to support large-scale drug administration programs. Five of our target NTDs can be controlled this way, including river blindness, lymphatic filariasis, soil-transmitted helminths, schistosomiasis, and trachoma.
  • Public health surveillance: Good data is crucial—such as data on where a disease is prevalent in humans, and where it’s found in mosquitoes, flies, worms, or other vectors. Since this data is lacking for many NTDs, we look for shared approaches to sample collection and processing, data aggregation, and the design of surveillance systems and precision-mapping that can pinpoint at-risk populations. Four of our target NTDs—sleeping sickness, leishmaniasis, Chagas disease, and leprosy—can be controlled by screening at-risk populations and treating infected individuals.
  • Vector control: Most NTDs are caused or spread by insects or worms, which are costly and difficult to control. But control measures are similar for all of these vectors, so we can be more effective by coordinating multiple efforts. To improve coverage, we support the development of a framework for cross-disease coordination, including the integration of NTD and non-NTD tools. For instance, the same diagnostic test could be used for sleeping sickness and malaria, since both diseases look similar in the early stages.

The 10 Target Diseases

  • Chagas Disease
  • Dracunculiasis (Guinea worm)*
  • Human African Trypanosomiasis (sleeping sickness)*
  • Leishmaniasis (black fever)*
  • Leprosy
  • Lymphatic Filariasis (elephantiasis)*
  • Onchocerciasis (river blindness)*
  • Schistosomiasis (snail fever)*
  • Soil-Transmitted Helminthiases (hookworm, roundworm, whipworm)*
  • Trachoma

*High-opportunity target

Visit Our Blog