我们做什么

疟疾

策略概览

打印

坦桑尼亚一家生产长效驱虫蚊帐的纺织厂。

我们的目标:

控制、消灭并彻底根除疟疾。

挑战

要点一览 

疟疾在全球近一百个国家中肆虐,患者人数超过两亿。

2010年65.5万人死于疟疾,其中90%以上来自非洲。

过去十年间,通过综合干预措施,三分之一疟疾流行国的疟疾感染率下降了至少50%。

我们致力于开发更有效的治疗方法、诊断工具和灭蚊措施以及安全有效的疟疾疫苗。

我们的抗疟策略于2012年修订,由Alan Magill主任领导实施,隶属于基金会全球卫生事务部。

疟疾在全球近一百个国家中肆虐,极大地损害了人类健康,为发展中国家,特别是撒哈拉以南非洲和南亚造成了沉重的社会经济负担。2010年,两亿多人罹患疟疾,65.5万人死于疟疾,其中大部分是五岁以下儿童。

疟疾是以蚊子为传播载体的寄生虫传染病。即使是轻微感染也会造成高烧、发冷、流感类似症状和贫血,对怀孕妇女尤其危险。感染严重疟疾但存活下来的儿童会终生弱智。疟疾每年造成的经济损失估计达几十亿美金。

机遇

疟疾是可防可治的疾病,历史也证明其可被消灭。不到一百年前,疟疾在包括欧洲和北美地区的全球肆虐。高收入国家积极预防,进行更有效的监控和治疗,逐渐控制了疾病蔓延并最终将其消灭。根据世界卫生组织的定义,在三年或更长时间内没有任何此类蚊子传染病例即为消灭疟疾。美国在1951年实现了这一里程碑式的目标。

发展中国家的疟疾防控工作取得重大成果。过去十年间,三分之一疟疾流行国的疟疾传染率下降了至少50%。这一成果得益于一系列综合干预措施:利用准确检验和抗疟药物及时诊断治疗;室内喷洒安全杀虫剂;使用长效驱虫蚊帐保护人们夜间不受蚊子叮咬。

然而,仅凭现有的工具和治疗措施很多国家都无法消灭疟疾,更不用说在全球根除疟疾。同时,一旦寄生虫对现有的杀虫剂和治疗措施产生免疫,疟疾会很快卷土重来。这两类免疫现象已经出现,很可能对经济有效的疟疾防控措施产生严重威胁。

要想迎接挑战并保持疟疾防治的工作成果,革新是关键。有必要开展长期研究和开发(R&D),推出一系列防治措施,以免过于依赖个别措施,因为这很可能会影响疟疾防控的效果。

值得庆幸的是,全球抗击疟疾的态度更加坚决;从2003年以来,疟疾防治资金增长了几乎六倍。全球疟疾行动计划,世界卫生组织(WHO)和减疟伙伴关系正在协调国际性合作。但我们仍需要加强政策效果、投入更多资金,以抗击人类健康的最大威胁之一并取得长期胜利。

我们的策略

疟疾防控是比尔及梅琳达•盖茨基金会的一项首要工作。我们的资源虽然丰富,但仅占全球抗击疟疾基金的一小部分,因此我们与捐赠国和发展中国家紧密合作。为确保我们的资金也能支持其他工作,我们仅在满足以下条件时才动用资源:现有资金不足;我们的资助具有催化效应;我们能够承担别人难以承担的风险。我们认为与众多合作伙伴相比,基金会的角色最适合某些领域,而我们的策略也有的放矢,针对这些领域解决疟疾问题。

一名昆虫学家查看从一个村庄的活板窗上提取的蚊子尸体。

我们支持研发更有效的治疗方法、诊断工具和灭蚊措施以及安全有效的疟疾疫苗。我们也支持策略制定,以便在消灭疟疾方面取得更大的成绩。

截止目前,我们已划拨近20亿美金用于资助疟疾防控项目。我们还向全球抗艾滋病、结核病和疟疾基金会划拨14多亿美金,支持广泛使用证明有效的疟疾、艾滋病毒(HIV)/艾滋病(AIDS)和结核病防治办法。我们除了直接资助抗疟项目,还提倡捐赠国政府和疟疾流行国持续增加对疟疾防控和消灭工作的资金支持。

重点领域

我们的合作伙伴众多:政府机构、多边合作组织、非政府组织、科研院所、社区组织和私营企业。我们在多个领域与之合作,加快实现防控、消灭并最终根除疟疾的目标。

药物和诊断

目前使用青蒿素类复方疗法(ACTs)治疗疟疾。青蒿素类复方疗法(ACTs)十分有效,耐受性良好。然而由于价格过高,病人经常购买便宜但疗效差的假冒伪劣药物,这使疟疾抗药性菌株更易生成。这种抗药性已经在南亚地区出现。

坦桑尼亚的一名护士正在发放疟疾药物,治疗一名感染儿童。

为了让治疗更普及、以及最终开发出治愈疟疾的单剂量疗法,使用多样化的渠道开发制药,并投入研发高效的非青蒿素类疗法是十分重要的。

我们的策略为有效使用青蒿素类复方疗法(ACTs),消除青蒿素抗药性以及研发新型疟疾药物提供支持。疟疾药品事业会(MMV)是我们这一项目的主要受捐方。疟疾药品事业会开发的疟疾在研药物有史以来数量最多。。我们还支持加强使用高效诊断工具,以确保病人接受诊断并得到恰当的治疗

我们的资金投入包括:

  • 开发新型非青蒿素类药物,预防(包括长期预防)、治疗肝期感染并阻断传播途径。
  • 依靠高产植物与生物合成青蒿素确保高质青蒿素的稳定供给
  • 确保病人有更多机会享受价格适中的青蒿素类复方疗法(ACTs),在这一点上特别要依靠私营部门
  • 通过消灭假冒伪劣药物、淘汰单一疗法以及改进监管体系和疟疾防控项目来预防抗药性问题的蔓延。
  • 加强诊断工具的使用来治疗,监控并消灭疟疾

我们将根据已开发应用的药物及诊断方法的效果,以及这些方法在减少疟疾传播方面的能力对这一领域工作成果进行监测。同时,我们还将对南亚抗药寄生虫的情况进行跟踪,评估策略带来的影响。

媒介控制方法

室内滞留喷雾和长效驱虫蚊帐是目前最有效的两种减少和阻断疟疾传播的干预措施。然而随着蚊子对杀虫剂的抗药性越来越强,它们的效果也受到影响。另外,室内喷药和蚊帐对在户外或白天活动的蚊子也没有效果。

我们支持对现有的媒介控制方法加以改进,同时开发新方法,阻断疟疾在任何环境下的传播。我们的资金投入包括:

  • 改善现有的媒介控制方法,比如开发更长效的室内滞留喷雾法、可以混合使用克服抗药性的杀虫剂,以及可以避开已知抗药机理的药物有效成分
  • 利用新方法和策略(例如空间趋避剂、用糖做诱饵的捕蚊器和动物诊疗)探索生态学或媒介蚊行为的新知识
  • 无论是单独使用还是混合使用,确定在特定环境下哪些方法对消灭疟疾最为有效

我们将与合作伙伴一起,特别是与创新媒介控制联盟一起,根据新方法或改良方法的有效性监测这一领域的工作成果。我们还将监测在确定媒介控制最佳组合方法,阻断疟疾传播途径方面取得的成果。

疫苗

有效的疫苗是抗击疟疾的强大武器,但开发一种疫苗需要科研人员数年的不断努力。在最近进行的第三阶段临床试验中,“RTS,S”疟疾疫苗效果低于预期,但数据显示接种这个疫苗或能预防一种寄生虫,这是一项重大进步。

现有的候选疫苗在降低多个目标群组的疟疾感染率方面发挥了重要作用。除此之外,提供更多高效二代疫苗,阻断整体危险人群中的疟疾传播,对最终根除疟疾十分必要。由于对免疫机理缺乏了解,疫苗开发进程正在放缓。

我们致力于开发能够阻断疟疾传播的疫苗,包括二代疫苗或新型阻断传播抗体类疫苗。我们还支持研究工作,为更有效的疫苗开发提供指导。

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Malaria

Strategy Overview

Print

A textile mill in Tanzania that produces long-lasting, insecticide-treated mosquito nets.

our goal:

to control, eliminate, and ultimately eradicate malaria.

The Challenge

At A Glance

Malaria occurs in nearly 100 countries worldwide and affects more than 200 million people.

About 655,000 people died from malaria in 2010, more than 90 percent of them in Africa.

Through a combination of interventions, malaria incidence in the past decade has fallen by at least 50 percent in one-third of the countries where the disease is endemic.

We invest in efforts to develop more effective treatments, diagnostic tools, mosquito-control measures, and a safe and effective malaria vaccine.

Our Malaria strategy, updated in 2012, is led by Alan Magill, director, and is part of the foundation’s Global Health Division.

Malaria occurs in nearly 100 countries worldwide, exacting a huge toll on human health and imposing a heavy social and economic burden in developing countries, particularly in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. More than 200 million people suffered from the disease in 2010, and about 655,000 died , the vast majority of them children under age 5.

Malaria is caused by parasites that are spread by mosquitoes, and even in relatively mild cases it can cause high fever, chills, flu-like symptoms, and anemia, which can be especially dangerous for pregnant women. Children who survive severe malaria can suffer lifelong mental disabilities. Malaria’s economic impact is estimated to cost billions of dollars in lost productivity every year.

The Opportunity

Malaria is preventable and treatable, and history shows that it can be eliminated. Less than a century ago, it was prevalent across the world, including Europe and North America. In high-income countries, aggressive prevention measures and more effective monitoring and treatment gradually brought the disease under control and then led to elimination—which the World Health Organization defines as the complete interruption of mosquito transmission of the disease for three or more years. In the United States, this milestone was achieved in 1951.

Major gains have been made in controlling malaria in developing nations. In the past decade, malaria incidence has fallen by at least 50 percent in one-third of the countries where the disease is endemic. These gains have been made through a combination of interventions, including timely diagnosis and treatment using reliable tests and anti-malarial drugs; indoor spraying with safe insecticides; and the use of long-lasting, insecticide-treated bed nets to protect people from mosquito bites at night.

However, current tools and treatments are insufficient to achieve elimination in many countries, let alone global eradication. In the meantime, malaria could rebound quickly as the parasites develop resistance to currently available insecticides and treatments. Both forms of resistance have already emerged as serious potential threats to effective and affordable malaria control.

Innovation is essential to meeting these challenges and maintaining progress against malaria. Sustained research and development (R&D) is needed to create a diverse array of treatment and prevention tools and thus avoid overreliance on a small set of anti-malaria tools, which has proven risky for effective malaria control.

Fortunately, global commitment to fighting malaria has solidified; malaria funding has increased almost six-fold since 2003. Through the Global Malaria Action Plan, the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Roll Back Malaria Partnership are coordinating international efforts. But we still need more effective policies and increased funding to secure lasting gains against one of humanity’s greatest health threats.

Our Strategy

Malaria is a top priority of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Our resources, while significant, are only a small part of worldwide funding to combat malaria, and we work closely with donor governments and developing countries. To ensure that our investments complement other efforts, we concentrate our resources in areas where existing funds are limited, our support can have catalytic effect, and we can assume risks that are more challenging for others to take on. Our strategy addresses the areas in which we believe the foundation is best positioned, among a broad spectrum of partners, to help reduce the burden of malaria.

An entomologist examines dead mosquitoes extracted from a window trap in a village.

We support R&D for more effective treatments, diagnostics, mosquito-control measures, and a safe and effective malaria vaccine. We also support the development of strategies to make progress toward malaria elimination.

To date, we have committed nearly US$2 billion in malaria grants. We have also committed more than US$1.4 billion to the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, which supports the expanded use of proven prevention and treatment tools for malaria, HIV/AIDS, and tuberculosis. Beyond our own direct investments in the fight against malaria, we also advocate for sustained and increased funding of malaria control and elimination efforts by donor governments and endemic countries.

Areas of Focus

We work with a broad array of partners—including government agencies, multilateral organizations, nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), academic institutions, community organizations, and private industry—in several areas to advance the goal of controlling, eliminating, and ultimate eradicating malaria.

Drugs and Diagnostics

The current treatment for malaria is artemisinin-based combination therapies (ACTs).  ACTs are effective and are well-tolerated by patients, but because of their high cost, patients often purchase cheaper, less-effective drugs, poor-quality drugs, or counterfeits, all of which can increase the risk that drug-resistant strains of malaria will emerge. Resistance has already been observed in Southeast Asia.

A nurse dispenses a malaria drug to treat an infected child in Tanzania

To improve the availability of treatments and eventually develop a single-dose cure for malaria, it is important to diversify the drug pipeline and invest in the discovery and development of effective non-artemisinin-based treatments.

Our strategy supports the effective delivery of ACTs, the elimination of artemisinin resistance, and the discovery of novel malaria drugs. The Medicines for Malaria Venture (MMV) is our major grantee in this effort. MMV has developed the largest malaria-drug pipeline in history. We also support efforts to improve the use of effective diagnostic tools to ensure that people are diagnosed and then treated appropriately.

Our investments include:

  • Developing new non-artemisinin-based drugs for purposes such as prevention (including long-lasting prophylaxis), treatment of liver-stage infection, and blocking of transmission
  • Ensuring a stable supply of quality-assured artemisinin, through the introduction of high-yield plants and biosynthetic artemisinin
  • Ensuring greater access to affordable ACTs, particularly through the private sector
  • Preventing the spread of resistance by eliminating poor-quality or counterfeit drugs and monotherapies and improving surveillance systems and malaria-control programs
  • Increasing the use of diagnostic tools for treatment, monitoring, and elimination of malaria

We will monitor success in this area based on the effectiveness of drugs and diagnostics that are developed and delivered and the ability of these tools to reduce malaria transmission. We will also assess their impact on artemisinin-tolerant parasites in Southeast Asia.

Vector-Control Tools

Indoor residual spraying and long-lasting insecticide-treated bed nets are currently the two most effective interventions for reducing and interrupting malaria transmission. Unfortunately, their effectiveness is threatened by increasing mosquito resistance to the pesticides used. Moreover, indoor sprays and bed nets are not effective against mosquito species that are active outside homes or that bite during the daylight hours.

We support efforts to improve existing vector-control tools and develop new ones that can interrupt transmission in all settings. Our investments include:

  • Improving current vector-control approaches by developing longer-lasting indoor residual spraying, insecticides that can be used in combination to overcome resistance, and active ingredients that avoid known resistance mechanisms
  • Exploiting novel aspects of the ecology or behavior of vector mosquitoes through the use of new tools and strategies such as spatial repellants, sugar-baited traps, and animal treatments
  • Identifying which tools, alone or in combination, are most effective for eliminating malaria in particular settings

Together with our partners, particularly the Innovative Vector Control Consortium, we will monitor success in this area based on the effectiveness of new or improved tools. We also will monitor progress toward identifying optimal packages of vector-control tools to interrupt malaria transmission.

Vaccines

An effective vaccine could provide a powerful tool against malaria, but developing one will take sustained scientific effort over many years. In recent Phase III clinical trials, the RTS,S malaria vaccine had lower-than-desired efficacy, but the data demonstrated that it is possible to vaccinate against a parasite—an important advance.

Beyond the current vaccine candidates that could play an important role in reducing malaria in various target groups, successful efforts to eradicate malaria will ultimately require more efficacious second-generation vaccines that can block transmission across entire populations at risk. The process of vaccine development is currently slowed by lack of knowledge of the mechanisms of immunity.

We invest in efforts to develop vaccines that can interrupt malaria transmission, including a second-generation vaccine or new vaccines based on transmission-blocking antigens. We also support research that can guide more efficient vaccine development.

Integrated Interventions

A number of interventions are highly effective against malaria, but questions remain about where and how best to deploy them: What is the impact of intensifying these interventions? In which countries is elimination currently feasible? What combination of tools will be optimal for eliminating malaria in specific transmission settings?

We support efforts to answer these questions and to capture and share lessons learned about the impact of scaling up and sustaining interventions. We also invest in efforts to learn how best to sustain financing of and commitment to anti-malaria efforts.

Advocacy, Policy, and Financing

The fight against malaria has gained momentum from a remarkable growth in partners, political will, and funding, but this momentum needs to be sustained over the long term. More resources are needed to enable further progress in R&D and to support countries in their prevention and treatment efforts.

Rural residents of Pailin Province, Cambodia, attend a course on malaria prevention.

In the past decade, funding for malaria control risen from US$300 million in 2003 to an estimated US$2 billion in 2011. This massive increase was made possible by the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria and commitments from the U.S. President’s Malaria Initiative, the UK Department for International Development, UNITAID, the World Bank, and other bilateral and multilateral agencies.

Still, the Global Malaria Action Plan estimates that an additional US$5 billion in annual funding is needed to achieve and sustain universal coverage and pursue research and development. Our strategy includes investments to encourage continued funding commitments by current major donors, mobilize new donors for malaria R&D, and support efforts to track country-level progress against malaria.

Progress on malaria policy and advocacy will be evaluated based on the level of global funding for malaria control and R&D through bilateral, multilateral, and private sources. Progress also will be evaluated based on countries’ adoption of effective policies to improve malaria control.

Related

Visit Our Blog

Connect