我们探索并试点结核病防控的创新模式和手段,改善诊疗方法并减轻患者的经济负担。

过去20年间,中国政府将世界卫生组织(WHO)推荐的现代结核病控制策略推广到全国。这一有力举措,帮助中国提前5年实现了联合国千年发展目标中的结核病防控目标,即1990~2015期间,将国内民众的结核病发病率和死亡率降低一半。

然而,挑战依然严峻。WHO的数据表明,中国依然是全球第三大结核病高负担国家,估计每年新增结核病患者90万人。此外,中国的耐多药结核病病例约占全球的1/5,这种病治疗难度大,且费用居高不下。

自2009年至今,基金会与国家卫生健康委员会(下称国家卫生健康委)合作,在中国开展结核病防控项目,旨在构建和实施新的结核病和耐多药结核病防控模式,帮助中国进一步减少结核病患者,特别是耐多药结核病患者。

项目一期(2009~2012),聚焦耐多药结核病控制。我们在试点项目中建立的模型发现的耐多药结核病患者比现有模式多9倍,同时将诊断和启动治疗的时间缩短了90%,将提前中断治疗的案例减少了90%,并将病人的医疗负担降低了80%。这些成果,被WHO誉为应对耐多药结核病挑战的全球典范。

项目二期(2013~2015),推广发展上述模型为适合所有结核病例的综合防控模式。项目整合了卫生系统创新,新型融资机制,以及包括分子诊断方法、用药监测设备在内的诊疗工具,建立了结核病防控的创新诊疗模式。该模式在镇江、宜昌和汉中开展试点,1400万人因此受益。

项目三期(2016~2018),目前正在进行中。基金会将前期试点成功的综合防控模式推广到浙江、吉林和宁夏三个省/自治区,有望令9000万人受益。我们将帮助上述三省加强各级医院、疾控中心及初级卫生保健部门在结核病防控方面的合作,采用分子诊断技术来进行快速结核菌药物敏感性试验以及应用电子药盒辅助社区结核病人管理,改革创新筹资和支付方式以减轻结核病患者的沉重医疗费负担。此外,我们会重点支持信息和通信技术的创新,更新国家结核病信息系统,以便更好地从医院和初级卫生保健部门采集结核病人信息。我们还将为各级结核病防控相关人员建立网上学习和认证系统。

We invest in developing and pilot-testing innovative approaches to controlling TB that improve diagnosis and treatment and reduce patient costs.

Over the past two decades, China has expanded the use of the tuberculosis (TB) control strategy recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO) across the country. This approach helped China meet its TB-related UN Millennium Development Goal — to reduce TB prevalence and mortality by half between 1990 and 2015 — five years ahead of the target date.

However, challenges remain huge. According to the WHO, China today still has the third-largest tuberculosis epidemic, with around 900,000 newly developed tuberculosis (TB) cases each year. In addition, China has about one-fifth of the world’s cases of multidrug-resistant TB (MDR-TB), which is especially difficult and costly to treat.

In 2009, we collaborated with the Ministry of Health (now the National Health Commission, NHC) to kick off a joint six-year TB control program to develop and demonstrate innovative TB control models that can help China further reduce the number of patients who develop TB, particularly MDR-TB.

The model piloted during the first phase of the program (2009-2012) focused primarily on MDR-TB. It identified nine times more MDR-TB cases than the existing system, shortened the time required for diagnosis and treatment initiation by 90 percent, reduced premature discontinuation of treatment by 90 percent, and reduced patients’ share of costs by 80 percent. These results have been praised by the WHO as a global model for addressing the threat of MDR-TB.

The second phase of the program (2013-2015) expanded this model into a comprehensive approach for all TB cases that includes integration with health systems, creative financing mechanisms, and the use of new tools such as molecular diagnostics and medication monitors. This model was piloted in the three prefecture-level cities of Zhenjiang, Yichang and Hanzhong, benefiting about 14 million people.

We are now in the third phase of the collaborative program (2016-2018). We are scaling up the comprehensive TB control model developed and piloted during the previous phases in the Zhejiang, Jilin and Ningxia provinces with a total population of 90 million. This phase intends to help the three provinces streamline the collaboration among hospitals, centers for disease control and prevention and the primary healthcare units at all levels for TB care, to apply molecular diagnostics for universal TB drug susceptibility testing and electronic medication monitors for case management, and to carry out new financing and payment reform to reduce TB patients’ catastrophic medical expenditures. This phase will also highlight important innovations in information and communications technologies, such as updating the national TB information system to capture TB patients’ information from hospitals and primary healthcare units and establishing an e-learning and certification system for TB related healthcare providers at all levels.