我们与政府部门、科研机构、国内和国际组织建立合作,在中国倡导控烟相关政策。我们还支持开展旨在改变大众对烟草使用态度的宣传活动。

挑战

中国是全球最大的烟草生产和消费国,烟草相关疾病的负担也最高。超过3亿中国人吸烟,而被动吸烟的人数超过7亿,其中包括1.8亿儿童。每年有140万中国人死于烟草相关的疾病,包括肺病、癌症、心脏病和糖尿病。


机遇

中国是世界卫生组织《烟草控制框架公约》(FCTC)的缔约国。FCTC是全世界首个、也是唯一一个全球公共卫生公约。FCTC强制要求其180个缔约国达到控烟最低标准,包括提高烟草税、禁止烟草广告、警示图形上烟包与包装去品牌化,以及禁止室内吸烟。这些措施在发达国家已被证实可以成功地减少烟草使用,因此有望同样为中国改善全民健康和挽救生命带来巨大益处。特别值得一提的是,通过烟草税提高卷烟价格来实现控烟目标效果显著。这是在大众,特别是年轻人中减少烟草使用的最有效的方法。烟草税还将成为国内税收的重要来源,可用于支持各种公共卫生和发展工作。

中国政府已将控烟列入国家议程,预计未来十年中国将在《烟草控制框架公约》履约方面取得更多进展。


我们的战略

我们支持中国的战略合作伙伴在《烟草控制框架公约》的指导下,倡导相关政策的制定和实施。这些伙伴与受助方一起开展政策研究、提升控烟能力并开展倡导活动。我们还支持合作伙伴面向大众开展宣传教育,旨在改变人们对烟草使用的态度,让吸烟变成不被接受、不受欢迎的行为。

We work with government agencies, researchers, and domestic and international organizations to advocate for policies that reduce tobacco use in China. We also support social marketing campaigns that aim to change social norms around tobacco use.

The Challenge

China is the world’s largest producer and consumer of tobacco and has the highest burden of tobacco-related disease. More than 300 million Chinese smoke, and more than twice that number—including 180 million children—are exposed to secondhand smoke. As a result, 1.4 million Chinese die each year from tobacco-related causes, including lung disease, cancer, heart disease, and diabetes.


The Opportunity

China is a signatory of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC), the world’s first and only global public health treaty. The FCTC compels its 180 signatory countries to meet minimum standards in tobacco control provisions, including tobacco taxes that raise cigarette prices for consumers, bans on tobacco advertising, graphic health warning labels and plain cigarette packaging, and indoor smoking bans. These measures have proven successful in reducing tobacco use in higher-income countries and could bring vast benefits in terms of improved health and lives saved in China. In particular, tobacco taxes that raise the price of cigarettes could make a dramatic difference—they offer the most effective way to reduce tobacco use, particularly among youth, and they can provide a significant source of domestic revenue to help fund a range of public health and development efforts.

China’s leadership has put tobacco control on the national agenda, and more progress on FCTC compliance in China is expected over the next decade.


Our Strategy

We support strategic partners in China in advocating for proven policies in line with the FCTC. These partners work with a network of sub-grantees to produce policy research, build tobacco control capacity, and create advocacy campaigns in support of tobacco control measures. We also support social marketing campaigns that aim to educate people and change attitudes about tobacco use and make it socially unacceptable and unappealing.