关于我们

比尔•盖茨与梅琳达•盖茨的公开信

打印

 

比尔•盖茨与梅琳达•盖茨于德州学习之旅期间参观 Lee 中学(德克萨斯州休斯顿,2008 年)。

我们的好友、联席理事沃伦·巴菲特曾就慈善事业向我们提出了很好的建议:他说:“不要只做那些稳妥的项目,要挑战那些真正棘手的问题。”

对此,我们无比赞同。我们基金会与全球各地的合作伙伴密切合作,努力克服一些严峻的挑战,例如发展中国家的赤贫和贫困人口健康问题,以及美国教育制度的缺陷等等。我们之所以集中精力解决少数几个问题,是因为我们认为这样有利于发挥强大的影响力,而且更重要的是,这些问题正是妨碍人们过上幸福生活的最大障碍。

对于我们着手解决的每个问题,我们都会资助那些有利于消除这些障碍的奇思妙想,不论是帮助发展中国家农民增产创收的新技术、预防和治疗致命疾病的新型工具,还是帮助师生在课堂内提高教学和学习效率的新方法,我们都会大力支持。我们资助的部分项目将会失败,对此,我们不但坦然接受,而且做好了准备,因为我们认为,慈善事业的基本作用就是对那些政府和企业无力承担、但前景光明的解决方案投下赌注。当我们了解到哪些赌注将会获得回报时,我们就必须调整战略并分享成果,使每个人都能从中受益。

我们两人都是乐观主义者。我们相信,只要做好这些事情——瞄准几个重大目标,然后与合作伙伴共同探索创新的解决方案——我们就能让每一个人都有机会过上健康而富有成效的生活。

比尔·盖茨和梅琳达·盖茨联席主席

访问我们的博客

Who We Are

Letter from Bill and Melinda Gates

Print

Bill and Melinda Gates at Lee High School during the Texas learning tour (Houston, Texas, 2008).

Our friend and co-trustee Warren Buffett once gave us some great advice about philanthropy: “Don’t just go for safe projects,” he said. “Take on the really tough problems.”

We couldn’t agree more. Our foundation is teaming up with partners around the world to take on some tough challenges: extreme poverty and poor health in developing countries, and the failures of America’s education system. We focus on only a few issues because we think that’s the best way to have great impact, and we focus on these issues in particular because we think they are the biggest barriers that prevent people from making the most of their lives.

For each issue we work on, we fund innovative ideas that could help remove these barriers: new techniques to help farmers in developing countries grow more food and earn more money; new tools to prevent and treat deadly diseases; new methods to help students and teachers in the classroom. Some of the projects we fund will fail. We not only accept that, we expect it—because we think an essential role of philanthropy is to make bets on promising solutions that governments and businesses can’t afford to make. As we learn which bets pay off, we have to adjust our strategies and share the results so everyone can benefit.

We’re both optimists. We believe by doing these things—focusing on a few big goals and working with our partners on innovative solutions—we can help every person get the chance to live a healthy, productive life.

Bill Gates and Melinda Gates
Co-Chairs

Visit Our Blog

Connect