Direction

Warren Buffett

Administrateur

Arrière

Imprimer

Tout comme Bill et Melinda Gates, Warren Buffett est l'un des administrateurs de la fondation. Il participe à l'élaboration de la vision de la fondation et à l'élaboration des stratégies visant à éliminer les inégalités les plus criantes dans le monde.

C'est un homme d'affaires américain et un philanthrope.  En tant que président-directeur général de la société Berkshire Hathaway Inc., il a investi dans un large éventail de sociétés, de See's Candies à Geico Insurance, en passant par Fruit of the Loom.  

En 2006, M. Buffett a reversé la plus grande partie de sa fortune à la Fondation Gates et à quatre autres fondations créées par des membres de sa famille : la Fondation Susan Thompson Buffett, la Fondation Howard G. Buffett, la Fondation Susan A. Buffett et la Fondation NoVo (dirigée par Peter A. Buffett). Son don de 10 millions d'actions Berkshire Hathaway à la Fondation Gates, versées annuellement, équivalait en juin 2006 à environ 31 milliards de dollars.

M. Buffett a fréquenté la Wharton School de l'Université de Pennsylvanie et obtenu son « Bachelor's Degree » de l'Université du Nebraska. En 1951, il a décroché un master en économie à l'Université Columbia.

Warren Buffett et feu son épouse, Susan Thompson Buffett ont élevé trois enfants : Susie, Howard et Peter. Il est aujourd'hui marié à Astrid Menks Buffett et vit et travaille dans sa ville natale d'Omaha, dans le Nebraska.

Consulter notre blog

Leadership

Warren Buffett

Trustee

Back

Print

Along with Bill and Melinda Gates, Warren Buffett is a foundation trustee, helping to shape our vision and develop strategies to address some of the world's most challenging inequities.

Buffett is a U.S. businessman and philanthropist. As chairman and chief executive officer of Berkshire Hathaway Inc ., he has invested in a broad range of companies, from See's Candies to Geico Insurance to Fruit of the Loom.

In 2006, Buffett pledged most of his fortune to the Gates Foundation and to four charitable trusts created by his family—the Susan Thompson Buffett Foundation, the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Susan A. Buffett Foundation, and the NoVo Foundation (led by Peter A. Buffett). His gift to the Gates Foundation of 10 million shares of Berkshire Hathaway stock, to be paid in annual installments, was worth approximately $31 billion in June 2006.

Warren attended the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania and received his bachelor's degree from the University of Nebraska. In 1951, he earned a master's degree in economics from Columbia University.

Warren and his late wife, Susan Thompson Buffett, raised three children: Susie, Howard, and Peter. Now married to Astrid Menks Buffett, Warren lives and works in his hometown of Omaha, Neb.

Visit Our Blog

Connect