我们做什么

高等教育成功

策略概览

打印

北卡罗来纳州夏洛特市——皮德蒙特社区学院的一间物理实验室。该学院开设了近300种学位和证书课程。

我们的目标:

确保所有寻求深造机会的学生都能够有机会接受并完成优质的高等教育,使他们在职业生涯中拥有可持续发展的能力。

挑战

要点一览

在美国,大学教育是进入中产阶级的敲门砖,大学毕业生的收入远超无大学学历者。然而,低收入学生完成大学学业的几率要比高收入阶层低28%,两者之间的教育鸿沟正在不断扩大。

大学毕业率偏低会对美国国民经济造成不利影响。在进入四年制大学的学生中,只有一半能在六年内取得本科学位,而专科学生只有不到20%能在三年内获得专科学位。

在美国,高等教育的成本持续上升,上升速度甚至超过医保的成本,居所有社会支出之首。然而,国家在学生助学金方面的拨款却在不断下降。

盖茨基金会与教育工作者,研究人员,技术人员,其他基金会,政策制定者以及其他合作伙伴共同协作,帮助公立高等院校以经济有效的方式引导更多的低收入家庭的学生完成高等教育。

基金会的高等教育成功计划的战略由项目总监丹尼尔•格林斯坦(Daniel Greenstein)领导,隶属于基金会美国本土项目事业部。

目前,美国的公共高等教育正处于转折点。随着教育成本上升,高等院校面临着日益加大的经济压力,教育鸿沟不断扩大,公立学校的学生助学金制度捉襟见肘——而在这样一个时代,我们的经济却比以往更为迫切地需要更多受过高等教育的劳动者。

如果任由这种趋势发展下去,美国经济将缺乏必要的高素质劳动力以维持其竞争力,而低收入人群与其他人群之间的教育差距也将越来越大。由于高等教育历来就是促进社会流动和经济增长的动力,这样的趋势对整个国家——尤其是低收入人群——将产生深刻的政治和社会影响,然而这种影响是不可接受的。但我们可以设法避免这些情况的发生。

机遇

美国各地高等院校的研究和实验表明,有一些极具潜力的解决方案能够帮助高等院校在提高毕业率的同时,保持或降低成本,并确保所有学生都能获得根据其个人需求、学习能力以及职业或就业目标而量身定制的优质教育体验。

这些解决方案包含了高科技的教学和学生辅导工具,以及通过收集和分析数据来帮助高校改进自身表现并提高学生学习成效的综合系统。另外,高中毕业要求与大学入学标准间的协调一致也同样重要。

我们的战略

纽约皇后区——拉瓜迪亚社区学院的学生正在上工程课。

比尔及梅琳达•盖茨基金会致力于确保所有学生都有机会接受优质教育。为实现这个目标,我们设立了两个相互协调的项目:大学学前教育计划和高等教育成功计划。前者旨在确保所有高中毕业生都能为顺利完成大学学习并踏上工作岗位做好充分准备;后者的目标则是让更多的年轻人获得就业市场认可的大学学位或证书。两个项目之间存在交叉领域,其中包括利用切实可行的方法和制定政策战略促进K-12标准(包含“州立共同核心标准”)与高等教育标准更好地协调一致。

基金会的高等教育成功计划的战略着眼于以创新方法改善美国高等院校的工作效率和绩效表现,从而提高低收入学生的大学毕业率,同时确保所有学生都能够根据个人的需求接受优质教育。

基金会的投资旨在加快推进高等教育领域目前开展的各项工作,并加大人力、创造力和精力的投入,以提高学生的毕业率、降低教育成本,同时提升美国高等教育系统的质量。

我们的运作方式

基金会主要扮演催化剂的角色——为开发那些不太可能由高校独立完成、但能产生广泛深远影响的解决方案提供大力支持。在每一个项目中,我们都会与合作伙伴密切合作,从中汲取丰富的从业知识、利用现有的研究成果以及在相关领域的类似经验。我们还会在现实环境下严格评估这些解决方案,我们不仅强调学生的学习成效,也注重解决方案的有效实施。

我们的合作伙伴

我们的合作伙伴包括那些锐意创新、大胆开展体制改革的高等院校。它们的工作帮助我们了解了如何有效地在高校层面纳入新型工具和实践,以及高校的具体做法与州和国家两级教育政策和规范间的相互作用。其中一些合作伙伴是过去几年刚刚成立的全新机构,它们目前正在尝试具有开创性的新型高等教育模式。

重点领域

基金会在高等教育领域的投资目的在于帮助美国的高等教育体系更具有灵活性、拥有更明确的信息、更加个性化,同时也更加经济合理。此外,我们与美国各地其他致力于创新的机构合作。这些机构具有出色的发展潜力,有可能成为同类机构的榜样。

量身定制

如今,学生接受高等教育的“典型”方式已经发生了改变。大约四分之三的学生不再通过参加四年全日制课程的学习完成高等教育。在完成学业的同时,他们在工作、家庭和其他重要事项之间进行平衡。学生有了明确的需求和目标后往往能够获得最好的学习成果。因此,我们正在探索如何利用技术来帮助高校更有效地教育学生,实时了解学生对所授课程的理解,以满足学生的需求。通过将技术引入网上以及线上和线下混合型课程,并为学生提供咨询,高校可以帮助更多的学生以更低的成本取得更好的学习效果。

灵活性

加利福尼亚硅谷的福德希尔学院为需要补习辅导的学生开设了创新的数学自学课程。

我们与合作伙伴共同帮助学生能够顺利地从高中教育阶段过渡到高等教育阶段,在高校之间转换学分,并在大学毕业后开始持久稳定的事业发展。这些工作包括实施一系列计划使高中毕业标准和大学入学标准协调一致,改进职业安排测试方法,制定辅导计划以帮助学生快速发现高中所受教育中的不足之处,填补知识上的空白。此外,我们提供相应的支持,帮助课程的学分能够在高校之间更容易地进行转换。

信息明确

基金会投资于改进数据系统,旨在更好地收集关于学生成绩和一贯表现的信息,借此帮助了解学生是否会选择上大学,帮助未来的雇主了解学生的素养和技能,以及帮助机构和政策制定者管理成本并改进成果。基金会在这方面的工作包括支持开发全国学生学习成绩信息系统。

经济适用

我们正在探索新的教育模式,旨在同时为更多的人以较低的成本提供高品质、个性化的教育。我们为相关政策的实施提供支持,这些政策重点为最贫困的学生提供助学计划,确保所有人都有机会获得高等教育学历。

经济适用

我们正在探索新的教育模式,旨在同时为更多的人以较低的成本提供高品质、个性化的教育。我们为相关政策的实施提供支持,这些政策重点为最贫困的学生提供助学计划,确保所有人都有机会获得高等教育学历。

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Postsecondary Success

Strategy Overview

Print

A physics lab at Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte, North Carolina, which offers nearly 300 degree and certificate programs.

our goal:

to ensure that all low-income young adults have affordable access to a quality postsecondary education that is tailored to their individual needs and educational goals and leads to timely completion of a degree or certificate with labor-market value.

The Challenge

At A Glance

A college education is the gateway to the American middle class, with college graduates earning substantially more than those without a degree. But low-income students are 28% less likely to finish college than those in higher income brackets, and the education gap is widening.

Poor college completion rates in the U.S. hurt the national economy. Only about half of those who enroll in a four-year institution earn a degree within six years, and barely 20% of those pursuing an associate degree earn one within three years.

The U.S. economy will need an estimated 22 million new college graduates by 2018 but will face a shortfall of at least 3 million.

The foundation works with educators, researchers, technologists, foundations, policymakers, and other partners to help public colleges and universities affordably and efficiently guide more low-income students to degree completion.

Our Postsecondary Success strategy, updated in 2012, is led by Daniel Greenstein, director, and is part of the foundation’s United States Division.

Public higher education in the United States is at a watershed moment. As education costs rise and colleges and universities face growing financial pressures, the education gap is widening and public student financial aid systems are getting stretched to the limit—all of this at a time when our economy needs more college-educated workers than ever before.

Left unabated, these trends will leave the U.S. economy without the skilled workforce it needs to remain competitive, and will likely increase the education gap between those from low-income backgrounds and the rest of the population. Given the role that higher education has historically played as an engine of social mobility and economic growth, the political and social implications for our nation, and particularly for lower-income people, are profound and unacceptable. They are also avoidable.

The Opportunity

Research and practical experimentation at colleges and universities across the country are revealing promising solutions that could enable colleges and universities to increase graduation rates while maintaining or reducing costs and ensuring that all students receive a high-quality educational experience that is tailored to their needs, academic abilities, and career or employment goals.

These solutions include sophisticated technology-enabled teaching and student advising tools, as well as enterprise-wide systems that gather and analyze data to help institutions improve their performance and student outcomes. Also vitally important is close alignment between high school graduation requirements and college entry standards.

Our Strategy

An engineering class at LaGuardia Community College in Queens, New York.

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation is committed to ensuring that all students have the opportunity to receive a high-quality education. We have two programs that work in concert toward this goal: College-Ready Education, which aims to ensure that all students graduate from high school prepared to succeed in college and in a career; and Postsecondary Success, whose goal is to dramatically increase the number of young people who obtain a postsecondary degree or certificate with labor-market value. Areas of intersection include practical approaches and policy strategies to better align K-12 standards—including the Common Core State Standards—with higher-education standards.

Our Postsecondary Success strategy seeks to increase low-income students’ college completion rates through innovations that can improve the productivity and performance of U.S. universities and colleges and ensure that all students have access to high-quality, highly personalized education.

Areas of Focus

Our investments seek to accelerate efforts already under way in higher education and to support the enormous talent, creativity, and energy being applied to improving student completion rates and lowering costs while raising the quality of the U.S. postsecondary education system.

Our primary approach is to play a catalytic role—to support the development of solutions that are unlikely to be generated by institutions working alone and that can trigger change on a broader scale. In each case, we work with our partners to build on the best of practitioner knowledge, available research, and analogous experiences in related sectors. We also rigorously evaluate these solutions in real-world settings, placing as much importance on effective implementation as on student outcomes.

Our partners include highly innovative colleges and universities that are engaged in bold, systematic reform efforts. Their efforts allow us to understand how new tools and approaches can be integrated effectively at the institutional level, and they help us understand the interplay between institutional practice and state and national education policies and regulations. Some of our collaborators are wholly new entities launched in the past few years that are experimenting with groundbreaking new paradigms in higher education.

Our investments address several key factors that are crucial to student success and institutional effectiveness at the postsecondary level.

College Readiness

We support efforts to improve student assessment and placement and to restructure remedial education programs to better serve students who enter college academically underprepared.

Personalized Learning

Foothill College in California’s Silicon Valley offers an innovative self-paced math program for students who need remedial instruction.

We support the development and use of technologies that enhance teaching and learning—such as online courses that can be integrated into college curricula or used by students working on their own over the Internet. These include massively online open courses (MOOCs) and courses that automatically adapt to each student’s learning style and needs.

Performance Measures

We support the development and use of key performance indicators and decision support tools that enable institutions to identify problems, set goals and priorities, allocate resources, measure progress, and make adjustments based on evidence in key areas (such as student success and cost). These tools can also enable institutional comparisons and assessment of the relative strengths and weaknesses of specific technologies, solutions, business models, and approaches to instruction and student support.

Research and Advocacy

We appreciate that fundamental change at the institutional level will take time and require sustained effort. We support research on the obstacles to student completion and ways to address them, as well as efforts to assess the relative costs and benefits of various solutions. We also work to understand how public policies and regulations affect institutional performance and student outcomes. Key priorities include exploring new approaches to student financial aid and improving the amount and quality of data collected about college and student performance.

All of these efforts will help realize our vision of a postsecondary system that is an engine of social mobility and economic growth and fuels the nation’s competitiveness in the global economy.

Related

Visit Our Blog

Connect