我们做什么

发现和转化科学

策略概览

打印

"大挑战"的受捐方中有一个开发脊灰疫苗的项目,小片灭活的脊灰病毒被封存在疫苗由脂肪分子构成的微小球体中。

我们的目标:

引导科学研究朝着影响最为深刻的领域迈进,加快科学发现向解决方案转化的速度,改善人类健康,挽救人类生命。 

挑战

要点一览 

我们与基金会的其他全球项目紧密合作,寻求将资源转化为科学发现,从而改善现有解决方案的实用性,开发用于填补空白领域的全新解决方案。

我们的重点领域是疫苗、药物、孕产妇与儿童健康、以及控制蚊虫。

为了加快科学发现向可实施解决方案转化的速度,在有潜力的干预措施进入耗时耗资的临床试验前,我们会寻求妥善的方式对其进行评估和改善。

通过“大挑战”项目,我们和世界上最有创新能力的研究人员密切合作,建立了全球研究计划与投资合作伙伴的网络。

发现与转化科学部门的策略于2012年修订,由Chris Wilson主任导实施,隶属于基金会全球卫生事务部。

研究与创新对改善人类健康、挽救人类生命至关重要。疫苗能够预防破坏性的感染和疾病,药物能够为疾病的管控和治疗提供协助,医疗设备则能够帮助医疗服务提供者诊断疾病,改善人类的整体健康。对于世界最为贫困和最为脆弱的人口而言,这些工具发挥的作用日渐重要。

然而,发展中国家的很多健康问题仍然缺乏有效、适当且经济的解决方案。针对严重影响世界贫困人口的问题,相关资金投入微不足道。据估计,在所有医疗研究中,只有10%的研究面向占全球医疗负担之90%的疾病。此外,由于针对最受人忽视的疾病和人口的研究缺乏相关支持,世界顶级科学家无法充分参与其中。

开发和实施旨在根除脊髓灰质炎的全新战略迫在眉睫。我们需要用于艾滋病、疟疾和结核病(TB)的新疫苗。由于耐药性的出现,结核病和疟疾等疾病的治疗效果日渐下降。在很多贫困的社区,很多诊断工具数量不足、供应不畅。为了满足选择计划生育的需求,我们需要更有效廉价的避孕药具。此外我们还需要新的解决方案,确保儿童能够健康地出生、成长和发展

机遇

虽然在解决持续存在的全球健康和发展问题时,发现研究可以增加取得重大进展的可能性,但我们必须确保研究以取得最大的影响力为核心。我们必须大胆创新,不惧失败的风险,确定和追求潜在的变革想法。

用于检测孕妇和胎儿生命体征的无线修补程序为推动早产儿研究提供了一种廉价的方式。

如果研究机构、政府部门、基金会、非政府组织以及私营行业齐心协力,创造能够大大提高家庭和儿童成果的新发现和新技术,那么全球健康和发展领域的重大进展指日可待。

为了发现解决关键健康问题的新方法,我们必须携手努力,填补关于问题原因的知识差距。项目伊始,我们必须考虑解决方案的开发和提供路径,提前预估工具或技术的测试方式、引入方式以及适用人群。此外,我们必须推动不同研究人员和资助者间的跨学科合作与协调,确保开发的解决方案能够可持续进行,且在可能的范围内获得最大的影响力。

我们的策略

发现与转化科学项目与比尔及梅琳达•盖茨基金会的其他全球项目紧密合作,旨在创造和改进针对传染性疾病以及母婴和儿童疾病的预防、诊断和治疗干预措施。我们采取的措施包括:发现并填补科学知识方面的差距;创建或实施新技术平台,加快支持基金会目标的研究;以及对潜在变革想法进行投资。

我们的所有投资都围绕一个目标展开,即创造发展中国家能够部署、接受并维护的解决方案。为了加快科学发现向可实施解决方案转化的速度,在潜在干预手段(例如候选疫苗)进入昂贵且费时的临床试验前,我们将寻求妥善的方式对其进行评估和改善。

我们从全球最具创造力的人群和不同领域中选择想法和解决方案,并通过包括“大挑战”资助项目等一系列机制对发现研究进行投资。我们与包括政府机构和其他资助机构在内的“大挑战”合作伙伴携手,共同确定需求迫切的领域,促进研究人员间的写作,建立研究计划和资助者全球网络。

重点领域

我们的工作分为四大领域:疫苗发现、药物发现、孕产妇和儿童健康以及病媒蚊虫的控制。

疫苗发现

传染病疫苗的开发过程存在不少问题,包括临床前候选疫苗质量低下、种类单一、早期人体试验进展缓慢、以及临床试验成本高昂。从相关发现到新疫苗的投放通常需要15至20年。

提供灭火脊灰疫苗的低成本微针贴片正处于测试阶段。

我们所投资的技术可以在候选疫苗进入昂贵且费时的临床试验前,对具有发展前景的候选疫苗进行确认和完善。我们所投资的研究能够更好地了解影响传染病易感性和疫苗疗效的健康因素,如营养不良和合并感染。此外,我们还寻求与大型疫苗生产厂家建立更为有效的合作模式,更好地识别和利用双赢的机遇。

我们的疫苗开发主要关注:疫苗技术的开发以及知识差距的缩小,从而加快脊髓灰质炎的根除;新战略的测试,旨在开发普遍有效的艾滋病疫苗;促进更为合理快速的结核病候选疫苗开发。

药物发现

 抗菌药物是传染病治疗的基石,但针对对发展中国家产生最大影响的疾病而言,可供选择的治疗方法相对较少。耐药性结核病和疟疾的问题也日益严重。

我们致力于加快最佳候选药物的认定。此外,我们还效仿疫苗发现工作,寻求机遇与医药公司合作,充分利用它们独一无二的资源和专业知识。我们还致力于寻找减缓耐药性发展和传播的新技术与新途径,其中包括替代性剂型和给药技术。

我们支持研发药效更好且毒副作用更小的新一代药物,用于治疗疟疾、结核病、内脏利什曼病(黑热病)、非洲人类锥虫病(昏睡病)、盘尾丝虫病(河盲症)和淋巴丝虫病(象皮病)并控制严重腹泻。为了充分利用材料科学、生物学和化学领域的重大进展,我们投资开发新的避孕技术,其中包括非激素避孕药物的发现。

孕产妇和儿童健康

为了确定营养、感染和环境毒素接触等因素如何对孕产妇、胎儿、新生儿和婴幼儿的健康状况产生影响,我们需要开展广泛的科学研究。

一个澳大利亚的团队正在开发可吸入药物催产素,用以治疗产后出血。

我们投资的研究旨在发现早产(婴儿死亡的重要病因)原因并在发创新的预防战略。我们资助的项目旨在发现子宫内和出生后一两年内(严重健康问题阻碍发育并影响长期健康的窗口期)儿童发育迟缓的原因,开发用于防止或逆转以发育不全与过分消瘦为标志的不健康成长的新方法。一个同类项目寻求通过测量全球各地最佳条件下胎儿的生长发育情况来制定胎儿生长标准。我们所投资的研究还将解决母婴从临产到产后 48 小时所面临的问题,对于母婴双方而言,这一阶段都是最危险的时期。我们的其中一个项目致力于开发用于治疗产后出血的可吸入催产素粉。

控制病媒蚊虫 

每年,蚊子都会向数以百万计的人传播多种严重疾病,其中包括疟疾和登革热。抗击这些疾病的一个主要战略就是使用杀虫剂杀灭病媒蚊虫或病媒。然而,蚊子对现有杀虫剂的抗药性不断增加,而某些杀虫剂则毒素含量过高,不适合广泛使用。有些措施则要求人类改变行为方式(如使用蚊帐),它们的分配系统也需要资金来维持。

我们对病媒蚊虫控制领域的投资包括非传统生物学和遗传学方法,以及旨在消耗或使病媒蚊虫种群失能的全新化学干预措施。一项通过全球健康资助项目“大挑战”计划启动的登革热生物控制项目已经在澳大利亚进入现场试验阶段,澳大利亚、巴西、印度尼西亚、越南和泰国的实地试验正在批准过程中。 

通过“大挑战”资助项目获得资助的众多病媒控制项目有利于实现根除疟疾这一目标,其中一个项目致力于将红外光用作隐形易用的蚊帐。

资助项目

"大挑战"的资助项目

“大挑战”的资助项目是我们推动全球健康和发展取得突破性进展的其中一个方式,该项目的目的是汇聚全球各科学学科中具有创造性的人才,包括尚未在传统意义上参与全球健康相关研究的人员,寻求面向特定全球健康和发展问题的创新解决方案。

一家美国公司正在开发使用微针和真空吸力的设备,可以安全无痛地采集用于医学诊断的血液样本。

全球卫生事务部开展的“大挑战”于2003年启动,关注改善发展中国家健康状况时面临的持续挑战。项目启动时,来自33个国家的科学家获得了45笔资助,总金额超过4.5亿美元。2011年,我们在项目下推出了新的计划,计划的目标是发现健康和疾病的生物标志以及实现健康出生、成长和发展的新方法。

2008年,我们推出“探索大挑战”项目,鼓励特定领域中更为大胆的解决方案。只要怀揣拥有前景的想法,任何人都能通过短短两页的在线申请参与项目,且无需提供初步数据。初始资助为10万美元,成功的项目还有机会获得高达100万美元的后续资助。

到目前为止,来自53个国家的科学家共获得将近800笔“大挑战”初始资助。虽然该项目最初关注的是全球健康问题,但越来越多的基金会团队将其用于其他新领域。新的挑战主题包括“告诉世界:援助的力量”。其目的是发现新的方法来寻找和分享故事,从而激发人们支持发展援助以及妇女小农户的人力节能创新。

全球各国的政府机构和非政府组织正通过独立进行或与基金会合作的方式,制定自身的“大挑战”项目并为此投入大量资金。例如,加拿大政府通过非营利组织“加拿大大挑战”投资 2.25 亿加元,用于资助整合了科学、社会和商业创新的全球健康创意;美国国际开发署 (USAID) 已推出一系列“发展大挑战”项目,其中首个项目是与“加拿大大挑战”以及基金会合作推出的“保障母婴生命安全”项目;“巴西大挑战”也于 2012 年启动,该项目是巴西政府与基金会间的合作伙伴框架,其中首个联合计划关注了早产负担的减轻。

道德、社会和文化项目

一个国际生物学家团队正在研究如何缩短登革热病毒传播蚊虫的寿命。

道德、社会和文化是基金会所有工作的重要考量因素。我们力求尊重和理解与我们合作的社区,确保我们的工作获得最大程度的接受,这是成功的先决条件。 

虽然道德、社会和文化 (ESC) 项目最初关注的是全球健康项目“大挑战”的支持,但该项目正与基金会中的其他项目团队合作,预测和解决全球健康和发展计划中的文化障碍。道德、社会和文化项目的近期工作包括:制定结核病药物试验社区参与指南;提供脊髓灰质炎相关数据共享的指导;以及制定合作模式,从而推动改善婴幼儿营养领域公共和私人团体间的合作与信任。

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Discovery & Translational Sciences

Strategy Overview

Print

Our Grand Challenges grantees include a project to develop a polio vaccine that encapsulates bits of inactivated poliovirus in microscopic spheres made of fat molecules.

Our Goal:

to direct scientific research toward areas where it can have the most impact and to accelerate the translation of discoveries into solutions that improve people's health and save lives.

The Challenge

At A Glance

Working closely with the foundation’s other global programs, we seek to channel resources into scientific discovery to create more practical versions of existing solutions and develop new solutions where none exist.

Our areas of focus include vaccines, drugs, maternal and child health, and control of disease-transmitting mosquitoes.

To speed the translation of scientific discovery into implementable solutions, we seek better ways to evaluate and refine potential interventions before they enter costly and time-consuming clinical trials.

Through our Grand Challenges grant programs, we are engaging the world’s most innovative researchers and building a global network of research initiatives and funding partners.

Our Discovery & Translational Sciences strategy, updated in 2012, is led by Chris Wilson, director, and is part of the foundation’s Global Health Division.

Research and innovation are essential for improving people’s health and saving lives. Vaccines prevent devastating infections and illnesses, drugs help manage and treat disease, and medical devices enable healthcare providers to diagnose ailments and improve people’s overall health. Increasingly, these tools are yielding significant benefits for the world’s poorest and most vulnerable populations.

But too many health conditions in the developing world still lack effective, appropriate, and affordable solutions. And too little funding is directed to problems that disproportionately affect the world’s poor. According to some estimates, only 10 percent of all medical research is devoted to conditions that account for 90 percent of the global disease burden. Moreover, due to limited support for research that addresses some of the most neglected diseases and populations, the world’s best scientists are not sufficiently engaged.

We urgently need to develop and implement new strategies to achieve the eradication of polio. We need new vaccines for HIV/AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis (TB). Treatments for diseases such as TB and malaria are becoming less effective due to drug resistance. Many diagnostic tools are either inadequate or not available in poor communities. Better and more affordable contraceptives are needed to address the demand for family planning options, as are new solutions to ensure healthy birth, growth, and development.

The Opportunity

While discovery research can increase the likelihood of dramatic progress in tackling persistent global health and development problems, we must ensure that it is focused for maximum impact. We must foster bold innovation and identify and pursue potentially transformative ideas, despite a high risk of failure.

Wireless patches that monitor the vital signs of pregnant women and fetuses could provide an inexpensive way to advance research on preterm birth.

Dramatic progress in global health and development can be made if research institutions, governments, foundations, nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), and private industry join together to generate new discoveries and new technologies that could greatly improve outcomes for families and children.

To reveal new ways to solve key health problems, we must work together to fill gaps in knowledge about the causes of those problems. From the start of projects, we must consider the path through development and delivery of a solution, anticipating how to test a tool or technology, how to introduce it, and who will use it. And we must promote cross-discipline collaboration and coordination among researchers and funders to help ensure that solutions are developed that will be sustainable and will have impact at the greatest possible scale.

Our Strategy

Working closely with other global programs at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Discovery & Translational Sciences program aims to create and improve preventive, diagnostic, and therapeutic interventions for infectious diseases and for conditions affecting mothers, infants, and children. We do this by identifying and filling gaps in scientific knowledge, creating or implementing new technology platforms that can accelerate research in support of our goals, and investing in potentially transformative ideas.

All of our investments advance the goal of creating solutions that can be deployed, accepted, and sustained in the developing world. To speed the translation of scientific discovery into implementable solutions, we seek better ways to evaluate and refine potential interventions—such as vaccine candidates—before they enter costly and time-consuming clinical trials.

We seek ideas and solutions from creative minds across the globe and from diverse fields, and we invest in discovery research through a variety of mechanisms, including our Grand Challenges grant programs. Together with our Grand Challenges partners, including government agencies and other donor institutions, we work to define areas of urgent need, foster collaboration among researchers, and build a global network of research initiatives and funders.

Areas of Focus

Our efforts fall into four main areas: vaccine discovery, drug discovery, maternal and child health, and control of disease-transmitting mosquitoes.

Vaccine Discovery

A number of problems plague the development of vaccines against infectious diseases, including insufficient quality and diversity of preclinical candidates, slow progress toward early-stage testing in humans, and the high cost of clinical trials. It typically takes 15 to 20 years to go from target discovery to deployment of a new vaccine.

A low-cost microneedle patch for delivering inactivated polio vaccine is in the testing phase.

We invest in technologies that can identify promising vaccine candidates and refine them before they enter costly and time-consuming clinical trials. We also invest in research to better understand the health factors that affect susceptibility to infectious diseases and vaccine efficacy, such as malnutrition and co-infections. Furthermore, we seek more effective models of collaboration with major vaccine manufacturers to better identify and pursue mutually beneficial opportunities.

Our vaccine discovery efforts focus on developing vaccine technologies and closing knowledge gaps to facilitate the eradication of polio, testing a new strategy for developing a broadly effective HIV/AIDS vaccine, and enabling more rational and accelerated development of TB vaccine candidates.

Drug Discovery

Antimicrobial drugs have been the cornerstone of infectious disease treatment, but relatively few treatment options are available for the diseases that have the greatest impact in the developing world. Drug-resistant TB and malaria are also growing problems.

We work to speed the identification of the best drug candidates, and, as we do with vaccine discovery, we look for opportunities to collaborate with pharmaceutical companies because of their unique resources and expertise. We also seek to develop new technologies and approaches to slow the evolution and spread of drug resistance, including alternative formulations and drug-delivery technologies.

We support efforts to create a new generation of more effective and less toxic drugs to treat malaria, TB, visceral leishmaniasis (black fever), human African trypanosomiasis (sleeping sickness), onchocerciasis (river blindness), and lymphatic filariasis (elephantiasis), and to control severe diarrhea. To take advantage of major advances in materials science, biology, and chemistry, we invest in developing new contraceptive technologies, including non-hormonal contraceptive drug discovery.

Maternal and Child Health

A broad range of scientific studies are needed to identify how maternal, fetal, newborn, and infant health outcomes are affected by factors including nutrition, infection, and exposure to environmental toxins.

An Australian team is developing an inhalable form of the drug oxytocin, which is used to treat postpartum bleeding.

We invest in research to discover the causes of preterm birth, which is a leading cause of infant mortality, and to develop innovative strategies for prevention. We fund projects to discover the causes of growth faltering in utero and during a child’s first two years of life—a window of time in which serious health problems can impair growth and affect long-term health—and to develop new ways to prevent or reverse unhealthy growth marked by stunting and wasting. One such project seeks to develop fetal growth standards through measurements of fetal growth under optimal conditions in sites across the world. We also invest in research to tackle the challenges faced by mothers and newborns from the onset of labor until 48 hours after childbirth—the most dangerous period for both mother and baby. Efforts include a project to develop an inhalable oxytocin powder to treat postpartum hemorrhaging.

Controlling Disease-Transmitting Mosquitoes

Mosquitoes spread many serious diseases, including malaria and dengue fever, to millions of people annually. A primary strategy for fighting these diseases is the use of insecticides to kill disease-transmitting mosquitoes, or vectors. Mosquitoes have grown increasingly resistant to available insecticides, however, and some insecticides are too toxic for widespread use. They also can require people to change their behavior to be effective—to use bed nets, for instance—and they need funding to maintain distribution systems.

Our investments in mosquito vector control include nontraditional biological and genetic approaches as well as new chemical interventions aimed at depleting or incapacitating disease-transmitting mosquito populations. One biological control project for dengue fever begun through our Grand Challenges in Global Health grant program has progressed to field trials in Australia, and approval is being sought for field trials in Brazil, Indonesia, Vietnam, and Thailand.

Diverse vector-control projects funded through our Grand Challenges Explorations grant program—including the use of infrared light as an invisible, easy-to-use bed net—could help achieve the goal of malaria eradication.

Supporting Programs

Grand Challenges Grant Programs

One way that we spur breakthrough advances in global health and development is through our Grand Challenges grant programs, which aim to engage creative minds across scientific disciplines and across the world—including those who have not traditionally taken part in global health-related research—to seek innovative solutions to specific global health and development challenges.

A device under development by a U.S. company uses microneedles and vacuum suction to safely and painlessly collect blood samples for medical diagnosis.

The Grand Challenges in Global Health program was launched in 2003 to focus on persistent challenges in improving health in the developing world. It began with the award of 45 grants totaling more than US$450 million to scientists in 33 countries. In 2011, we launched new initiatives under the program aimed at discovering biomarkers of health and disease and new ways to achieve healthy birth, growth, and development.

In 2008, we launched Grand Challenges Explorations to encourage even bolder solutions in specific areas. Anyone with a promising idea can apply using a simple two-page online application; no preliminary data is required. Initial grants are for US$100,000, and successful projects have the opportunity to receive a follow-on grant of up to US$1 million.

To date, nearly 800 Grand Challenges Explorations initial grants have been awarded to scientists in 53 countries. Originally focused on global health topics, the program is also being used in new ways by a growing number of foundation teams. New challenge topics include Aid is Working. Tell the World, which is intended to uncover new ways to find and distribute stories that will inspire people to support development aid, and Labor-saving Innovations for Women Smallholder Farmers.

Governments and NGOs around the world are developing their own Grand Challenges programs and committing significant funds, both independently and in partnership with the foundation. For example, the Canadian government has committed CAD$225 million through the not-for-profit organization Grand Challenges Canada to fund global health ideas that integrate scientific, social, and business innovation; the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) has launched a series of Grand Challenges for Development programs, the first being Saving Lives at Birth, which includes Grand Challenges Canada and the foundation as partners; and Grand Challenges Brazil was launched in 2012 as a partnership framework between the government of Brazil and the foundation, with the first joint initiative focused on reducing the burden of preterm birth.

Ethical, Social, and Cultural Program

Ethical, social, and cultural considerations are important in all of the foundation’s work. Not only do we strive to be respectful and sensitive to the communities we work with, but we also aim to design our efforts to ensure the greatest chance of acceptance, which is a prerequisite for success.

an international team of biologists is investigating ways to shorten the lifespan of mosquitoes that transmit the dengue virus.

Originally focused on supporting the Grand Challenges in Global Health program, our Ethical, Social, and Cultural (ESC) program now works with program teams across the foundation to anticipate and address cultural barriers to global health and development initiatives. Examples of the ESC program’s recent work include developing community engagement guidelines for TB drug trials, providing guidance for polio-related data sharing, and developing a collaboration model to promote cooperation and trust between public and private groups that work to improve infant and young child nutrition.

Related

Visit Our Blog

Connect