我们做什么

营养

策略概览

打印

一位孟加拉国母亲正在给孩子喂食固体食物以补充母乳。(照片 © Alive & Thrive/AV Com)

我们的目标:

确保所有的儿童都能获得所需的营养,以健康的身体开启人生旅途。

挑战

要点一览

每年有数百万儿童由于在 1,000 天的关键期(从怀孕至两岁)缺乏营养而死亡或患有终生身体或智力缺陷,其中大部分来自发展中国家。

其中四分之一的死亡本可通过采取有效的营养干预措施加以避免。

我们的营养项目致力于提供有效的干预措施并研发新的工具和战略,以确保孕妇和幼儿能够获取保持身体健康所需的营养。

我们同基金会的农业发展团队紧密合作,力求改善农业项目对营养问题的影响,提倡出台让发展中国家的小农家庭及社区受益的政策。

我们的营养战略由家庭健康部主任 Gary Darmstadt 主持实施,是基金会全球发展部门的职责之一。该战略于 2011 年完成修订。

在发展中国家,数百万儿童有着一系列健康问题,其共同的根源便是营养不良。许多贫困儿童得不到足够或合适的食物来满足正常成长发育的需要。数百万儿童还饱受腹泻等疾病的折磨,这些疾病会夺走他们吸收的养分。

5 岁以下儿童的死亡中有 35% 是营养相关的原因引起的。幸存的营养不良儿童中,三分之一发育不良,而这通常会对神经发育和学习能力产生影响,并最终影响他们工作和谋生的能力。

对孕妇来说,营养不良则增加了她们因妊娠并发症和生产体重过轻的婴儿而死亡的几率。出生时体重过轻的婴儿易患急性传染病、慢性病以及身体和认知缺陷。这最终会导致恶性循环——由于营养不良和长期贫困,穷人的下一代在面对死亡、疾病、认知缺陷和生产能力损害时依旧是弱势群体。

大多数营养不良人群位于南亚和撒哈拉以南非洲地区。世界上发育不良的儿童三分之二来自这些地区中的十个国家。不过即使是在这些国家,大多数营养不良的人并未出现极端饥饿的症状。一些政策制定者并未察觉这种“隐形饥饿”的危险,所以国家营养项目常常缺乏资金。

其他导致营养不良的原因还包括:不能稳定获取充足、安全、营养的食物;农业产出不高;气候变化影响;恶劣的卫生条件以及那些最易患营养不良的人群对健康饮食缺乏认识和理解。

机遇

推广更好的母乳喂养方法、为 6-24 个月大的婴幼儿提供更多途径获取营养食物、确保妇女和儿童获取足够的重要维他命和矿物质——这些策略都能够有效降低儿童死亡率并减少因营养不良导致的问题。近年来,营养项目在增加全球人口摄入维他命 A 和碘方面取得瞩目进步,例如孕产妇和儿童的健康状况得到改善。

大范围改善营养水平需要进一步研究影响妇女营养状况的因素以及影响胎儿和幼儿生长发育的条件。此外,还需要更好的方法来研究目标人群,更好的工具来识别养分缺乏和营养干预措施的影响,并提高资金支持和服务提供能力。

我们的战略

比尔及梅琳达·盖茨基金会的营养项目致力于提供有效的干预措施并研发更好的工具和战略,以确保孕妇和幼儿能够获取所需的食物和养分。

我们尤其注重探索新的方法来改善妇女怀孕前后及儿童自出生至两岁期间(这一阶段的营养对生长发育和终身健康至关重要)的营养状况。其中包括采用新的方法确保新生儿前 6 个月得到及时的纯母乳喂养,并在 6 个月到 24 个月这段时间添加健康辅食。

一种富含维他命 A 的新型甘薯品种如今已在非洲东部和南部普及。

我们重点关注撒哈拉以南非洲地区及南亚,这些地区的营养不良情况最为严重。我们依靠合作伙伴来提供有效的营养干预措施,并收集和传播能以低廉价格推广的干预措施的相关信息。我们还倡导对基于实证的营养项目给予资金和政策支持。

基金会的营养项目也同其他项目团队展开紧密合作。特别值得一提的是,我们同农业发展团队紧密合作,力求改善农业项目对营养问题的影响,并提倡出台让发展中国家小农受益的政策。我们共同关注的领域包括:主食的生物强化、营养教育、霉菌毒素控制、政策和倡议以及相关研究。

我们还同基金会的发现与转化科学项目合作,以便更好地了解决定健康成长的生物学因素,并找到衡量微量营养素缺乏和人口营养状况的新方法。

我们同基金会的母婴和儿童健康项目积极合作,鼓励母体营养和母乳喂养方面的有效实践。我们还同肠道和腹泻疾病项目和水源、卫生与清洁项目合作,以更好了解清洁水、良好的卫生条件以及健康的消化系统如何能改善儿童的营养状况。

重点领域

推动健康成长

衡量健康成长的质量工具和标准——包括基于世界卫生组织儿童成长标准的工具和标准——已经问世,但是,还需要做进一步的工作以了解胎儿和幼儿发育迟缓的生物学基础,以及特定营养产品和旨在改善成长和神经发育的干预措施的效果。为此,我们投资开发更多全球标准以对胎儿和儿童的健康成长进行评估。我们还支持研究母体营养与胎儿发育、分娩结果以及儿童成长和健康的相互作用。

出生至两岁这一时期,合适的营养对儿童的成长发育及终身健康至关重要。(照片 © Alive & Thrive/Tina Sanghvi)

另外,我们投资研发和测试能够大范围应用的新型低成本的工具、产品和干预措施以使儿童在两岁之前更加健康地成长。

改善母乳喂养方法

改善婴儿健康状况最有效的方法之一便是,自出生至 6 个月期间实行纯母乳喂养,这之后到两岁前继续进行母乳喂养,同时添加适当的辅食。

一位马拉维 Dowa 的妇女正用母乳喂养宝宝。

发展中国家的大多数女性对婴儿进行母乳喂养,但由于工作、文化信仰、缺少社会支持等原因,很少有人能够真正做好母乳喂养工作。每年死亡儿童中有超过 50 万人是由于母乳喂养不足引起的。我们设法通过大众媒体、社交网络、孕妇和宣传政策、创新的服务提供模式以及提高前线医护人员的知识和技能来鼓励更有效的母乳喂养做法,并投入研究资金对这类方法进行测试和评估。

解决微量营养素缺乏问题

缺乏关键微量营养素的饮食会影响儿童大脑和认知发育,阻碍其成长,甚至导致妇女和儿童的死亡。在亚洲和撒哈拉以南非洲地区,许多儿童由于缺乏维他命 A、铁、叶酸、碘、锌和其他基础营养素而身患严重传染病、慢性病和终身神经发育障碍。

位于印度偏远地区拉贾斯坦邦的一个妇女自助小组生产强化食品向母亲和幼童发放。(照片 © 全球改善营养联盟)

加强当地食物中的微量营养素并通过选择育种提高主要作物的营养质量,能够显著改善营养摄入。我们与广大公私部门合作伙伴共同努力,帮助弱势人群更方便地获取强化食品和生物强化食品。我们的工作已经使数亿人有更多机会获取微量营养素。例如,一种富含维他命 A 的甘薯品种已经面世,这是第一种在非洲东部和南部普及的生物强化食品。

我们致力于研发和测试用于衡量微量营养素缺乏的更有效工具,这将有助于政策制定者更好地了解和评估微量营养素项目。 

倡导给予营养项目更好的资金和政策支持

据世界银行估计,要扩大有效营养解决方案的应用范围,每年须花费约 110 亿美元,其中包括每年花费 60 亿美元为营养不良儿童提供优质食物。目前,援助国以及发展中国家对营养项目的投入远未达到这一标准,好在“扩大营养”(Scaling Up Nutrition,SUN) 运动正使全球社会联合起来,为增强意识、增加资源以及提高项目的能力和责任而共同努力。

我们鼓励发展中国家和援助国的决策者不仅要投入更多资金用于改善营养,还要更明智地使用这些资金。我们努力收集和传播有关营养不良的原因和后果的信息以及应对营养不良的有效方法,提倡出台支持改善营养的政策和法规,并动员公共和私人部门投资营养项目。我们还支持将营养项目列为农业投资的优先领域。

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Nutrition

Strategy Overview

Print

A mother in Bangladesh feeding her child solid food to complement breastfeeding. (Photo © Alive & Thrive/AV Com)

OUR Goal:

to ensure that all children have the nutrition they need for a healthy start in life.

The Challenge

At A Glance

Millions of children, mostly in developing countries, die each year or suffer permanent physical or mental impairments because they lack good nutrition during the critical 1,000-day period between conception and age 2.

One in four child deaths could be prevented by scaling up proven nutrition interventions.

Our Nutrition program focuses on delivering proven interventions and creating new tools and strategies to ensure that pregnant women and young children receive the nutrition they need for healthy growth and development.

We work closely with the foundation’s Agricultural Development team to improve the nutritional impact of agricultural programs and advocate for policies that benefit smallholder farmers, their families, and communities in developing countries.

Our Nutrition strategy, updated in 2011, is led by director Shawn Baker, and is part of the foundation’s Global Development Division.

Millions of children in the developing world suffer from a range of health problems with a common root cause: undernutrition. Many children who live in poverty don’t get enough food—or the right kind of food—to support normal growth and development. Millions also frequently suffer from illnesses such as diarrhea that sap the nutrients they consume.

Nutrition-related factors account for about 35 percent of the deaths of children under age 5. Among undernourished children who survive, about one-third suffer from stunted growth, which often impedes neurodevelopment and learning, and ultimately the ability to work and earn a living.

In pregnant women, undernutrition increases the chances of dying due to pregnancy complications and of delivering an underweight baby. Children who are born underweight are at risk of suffering from acute infectious diseases as well as chronic diseases and physical and cognitive impairments. The result is a vicious cycle in which succeeding generations of poor people are vulnerable to death, disease, cognitive impairment, reduced productivity due to undernutrition, and continuing poverty.

Most undernourished people live in South Asia and Sub-Saharan Africa. Ten countries in those regions account for two-thirds of the world’s growth-stunted children. But even in those countries, most of the people affected by undernutrition do not show symptoms of extreme hunger or starvation. This crisis of “hidden hunger” is invisible to some policymakers, which means that national nutrition programs are often underfunded.

Other challenges that contribute to undernutrition include inconsistent access to sufficient, safe, nutritious food; low agricultural productivity; effects of climate change; poor sanitation and hygiene, and lack of awareness and understanding of healthy diets among those most at risk of undernutrition.

The Opportunity

Promoting better breastfeeding practices, expanding access to nutritious foods for children from 6 to 24 months of age, and ensuring that women and children get sufficient amounts of key vitamins and minerals are proven strategies that can substantially reduce child mortality and nutrition-related problems. In recent years, nutrition programs have produced significant increases in the global intake of vitamin A and iodine, for example, resulting in improved maternal and child health.

Achieving improved nutrition on a broad scale requires further research to understand the factors that influence the nutritional status of women as well as the conditions that affect fetal growth and the growth and development of young children. Also needed are better ways to reach target populations, better tools to identify nutrient deficiencies and the impact of nutrition interventions, and increased funding and delivery capacity.

Our Strategy

At the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, our nutrition efforts focus on delivering proven interventions and developing better tools and strategies for providing pregnant women and young children with the foods and nutrients they need.

We are particularly interested in new approaches to improving nutrition for women before and during pregnancy and for children from birth to age 2—when nutrition is most critical to growth and development and lifelong health. This includes new approaches to ensuring immediate and exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months of a child’s life, followed by a transition to healthy complementary feeding from 6 to 24 months of age.

We focus on regions of Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia where the burden of undernutrition is greatest. We rely on partners to deliver proven nutrition interventions, and we gather and disseminate information on intervention models that can be affordably replicated. We also advocate for funding and policies that support evidence-based nutrition efforts.

A new sweet potato variety that is rich in vitamin A is now widely available in eastern and southern Africa.

Within the foundation, our Nutrition program collaborates closely with other program teams. In particular, we work closely with the Agricultural Development team to improve the nutritional impact of agricultural practices, programs, and policies for smallholder farmers in developing countries. Common areas of focus include biofortification of staple foods, nutrition education, control of mycotoxins, policy and advocacy, and research.

We work also with the foundation’s Discovery & Translational Sciences program to better understand the biological determinants of healthy growth and find new ways to measure micronutrient deficiencies and the nutritional status of populations.

We work to encourage effective practices in maternal nutrition and breastfeeding in cooperation with the foundation’s Maternal, Newborn & Child Health program. We also collaborate with the Enteric and Diarrheal Diseases program and the Water, Sanitation & Hygiene program to better understand how clean water, good sanitation, and a healthy digestive system can improve children’s nutrition.

Areas of Focus

Promoting Healthy Growth

Proper nutrition from birth to age 2 is critical to a child’s growth and development and lifelong health. (Photo © Alive & Thrive/Tina Sanghvi)

Quality tools and standards for measuring healthy growth—including those based on the World Health Organization’s Child Growth Standards—are available; however, further work is needed to understand the biological basis of faltering growth in fetuses and young children and the effectiveness of specific nutritional products and interventions to improve growth and neurodevelopment. To help fill this gap, we invest in the development of additional global standards to assess healthy fetal and child growth. We also support research to understand the interplay between maternal nutrition and fetal development, birth outcomes, and child development and health.

In addition, we invest in developing and testing new low-cost tools, products, and interventions that promote healthy growth in children from conception to age 2 and that can be deployed on a broad scale.

Improving Breastfeeding Practices

One of the most effective ways to improve the health of infants is for mothers to breastfeed exclusively from birth to age 6 months and to continue breastfeeding through age 2, supplementing with other appropriate (complementary) foods.

A woman breastfeeding her baby in Dowa, Malawi.

Most women in developing countries breastfeed their infants, but few do so optimally due to work commitments, cultural beliefs, lack of social support, or other barriers. More than a half-million child deaths each year are attributable to inadequate breastfeeding. We invest in research to test and evaluate ways to encourage more effective breastfeeding practices through mass media, social networks, maternity and marketing policies, innovative service delivery models, and by enhancing the knowledge and skills of frontline health workers.

Addressing Micronutrient Deficiencies

Diets that are deficient in key micronutrients can affect brain and cognitive development, stunt growth, and lead to death among women and children. In Sub-Saharan Africa and Asia, many children suffer from severe infections, chronic medical problems, and permanent neurodevelopmental impairments due to lack of vitamin A, iron, folic acid, iodine, zinc, and other essential nutrients.

A women’s self-help group in a remote region of Rajasthan, India, produces fortified foods for distribution to mothers and young children. (Photo © Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition)

Nutritional intake can be significantly improved by fortifying local foods with micronutrients and enhancing the nutritional quality of staple crops through selective breeding. We work with a diverse range of public- and private-sector partners to increase access to fortified and biofortified foods among vulnerable populations. This work has already improved access to micronutrients for hundreds of millions of people. Efforts have included development of a sweet potato variety that is rich in vitamin A—the first biofortified food widely and commercially available in eastern and southern Africa.

Our efforts to develop and test better tools for measuring micronutrient deficiencies will help policymakers better target and evaluate micronutrient programs.

Advocating for Better Nutrition Funding and Policies

Scaling up effective nutrition solutions will cost an estimated US$11 billion annually, according to the World Bank. This includes US$6 billion annually for high-quality food to treat malnourished children. Donor and developing-country commitments to nutrition programs currently fall far short of this mark, but the global community is coming together in the Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) movement to raise awareness, increase resources, and improve the capacity and accountability of programs.

In developing and donor countries, we work to encourage decision makers to not only spend more on improving nutrition but also to spend more wisely. Our efforts include gathering and disseminating information on the causes and consequences of undernutrition and effective ways to address it; advocating for policies and regulations that support improved nutrition; and mobilizing the public and private sectors to invest in nutrition. We also support efforts to make nutrition a priority in agricultural investments.

Visit Our Blog

Connect