我们做什么

农业发展

策略概览

打印

坦桑尼亚一位种植玉米的农民通过优质良种实现了作物增产。

我们的目标:

以可持续的方式提高农业生产力,帮助撒哈拉以南非洲地区以及南亚地区的数百万农户摆脱饥饿和贫困。 

挑战

要点一览

全球有将近 10 亿人受到极度饥饿和贫困问题的影响。其中相当一部分人口是依靠小块土地 (约 1-2 英亩) 来获取粮食和收入的农民。

我们的目标是帮助这些农户提高粮食产量,增加收入,并为他们的后代做好土地保护。

我们特别重视撒哈拉以南非洲地区和南亚地区农户最重要的农作物和牲畜。

帮助这两个地区的女性农民是我们的重点工作,因为在那里,女性承担大部分农活,她们的福祉关系到她们孩子的健康、幸福和教育。

我们的农业发展策略于 2011 年修订,由临时主任 Chris Elias 领导实施,隶属于基金会全球发展部门。

从 20 世纪 60 年代到 80 年代,发生在亚洲和拉美地区“绿色革命”,通过改变耕作方法,改良玉米、小麦、稻米等主要作物品种,实现了粮食产量翻倍,并拯救了数以百万计的生命。

许多政府和捐赠者随后便将注意力转向了其他方面,以为发展中世界的粮食短缺问题已得到解决。然而,在撒哈拉以南非洲地区,情况并非如此;虽然尝试将很多“绿色革命”中行之有效的方法引入那里,但都以失败告终。

同时,在这些年间,人口增长、收入提高、自然资源减少以及气候变化导致粮食价格上涨,以及农业生产力再次陷入困境。

受影响的群体中有许多是拥有小块土地的小农户 。全球最贫困的人口中有四分之三都是小农户,他们依靠耕种相当于一个足球场大小的土地来维持生计。多数人都难以为继——贫瘠的土壤、作物疾病、害虫、干旱等问题使他们的日子举步维艰。他们饲养的牲畜往往瘦弱或多病。他们无法触及可靠的产品市场和也无法获得准确的价格信息,政府的政策也很少顾及他们的利益。

这些因素又反过来将数百万家庭置于贫困和饥饿以及营养不良等危险中——营养不良是世界上最严重的健康问题,也是导致儿童死亡的主要原因。与此同时,第一次绿色革命造成的后果——过度使用化肥导致水污染问题——让我们看到了兼顾环境保护和人类健康以实现可持续发展的重要性。

机遇

长远来看,帮助农户以可持续的方式提高产量并增加农作物销售量,是减少饥饿和贫困最有效的方式。

孟加拉的奶农受益于增产和兽医护理改进项目。

当农民能够种植更多粮食、赚取更多收入时,他们就更能养活家人,送孩子接受教育,照顾家人健康,并增加对土地的投资,如此有利于提高社区的经济能力和稳定性。

帮助农民提高作物产量,需要综合全面的解决方法,包括使用更能抵抗疾病、干旱和水患的种子,有可靠的本地资源提供有关高产耕作技术的信息,提高农民的市场进入能力,此外,政府的政策也要顾及农户利益。

农业发展还需解决性别差异问题。在撒哈拉以南非洲地区和南亚地区,女性是农活的重要承担着;然而,由于她们较难取得良种、技术和进入市场的机会,女性耕作的土地产量比男性耕作的土地产量低了 20-40%。弥补这种差距有助于提高家庭的生产力,并减少贫困家庭的营养不良现象。

我们的策略

农业发展是比尔及梅琳达•盖茨基金会规模最大的项目之一。截至目前,我们已在农业发展领域上投入了超过 20 亿美元的资金,投入的主要地区在撒哈拉以南非洲地区和南亚地区。我们的方针是基于以下原则:

  • 倾听农民的心声,解决他们的具体需求。我们与农民讨论他们希望种植和食用的作物,以及他们面对的独特挑战。我们与那些了解这些挑战并且有能力应对这些挑战的组织进行合作,我们投资研究,找出那些农民想要并且会使用的相关经济型方案。 
  • 提高农业生产力。我们采取一套综合全面的解决方法来帮助小农户走向繁荣富强,其中包括为其提供更健康的种子、更有效的工具和耕作管理方法、本地相关知识、新兴数字化技术以及可靠的市场等。我们还敦促政府制定扶助农民的农业政策,帮助农民为自己及其社区提供更充足的粮食。
  • 培育可持续发展的农业。在当前自然资源不断减少、气候变化不断恶化的形势下,我们鼓励农民接纳并采用可持续发展的做法,从而以更少的土地、水、化肥以及其他投入,来提高粮食产量,同时为后代保护自然资源。
  • 携手合作,扩大影响。我们致力于以更有效的方式传播我们的策略,并与受捐方以及政府、非政府组织、传统和新兴捐赠者、私营部门等其他合作伙伴分享我们的学习心得。我们的资源虽然丰富,但与需求相必仍然只是很小一部分。通过多方有效合作,可以集中最大的力量帮助小农户解决问题。

重点领域

我们在以下四个战略领域进行投资,因为我们相信这些领域有助于解决发展中世界农户面临的各种挑战和当地现实问题。

研发

 

目前,研究者们正在探索如何应对各种作物病害,比如图中这个坦桑尼亚农场上的木薯作物感染的病害。

我们支持研发产量和营养价值更高的主要作物品种,供农户种植和食用。其中包括那些根据当地条件改良过、满足农民需要且具有特别优势 (比如产量更高、营养价值更大、抗干旱、抗洪和抗虫害等) 的品种。我们资助那些可以改进土壤和水资源管理的研究、以及通过减少因腐坏、杂草、病虫害等威胁造成农作物产量损失的项目

农业政策

获得及时准确的信息,对农民至关重要。发展中国家的决策者还需要根据可靠的数据作出科学的决策。我们支持数据收集、研究和政策分析工作,以帮助评估各种实施方针的效果,为农民提供准确的信息,同时评估国家和国际农业政策产生的影响。我们的研究还包括衡量我们捐赠效果,确保捐赠资金为农户带来了预期效益。

牲畜

牲畜是发展中国家农业的重要部分,关系到撒哈拉以南非洲地区和南亚地区超过 9 亿人口的生计。我们支持通过改良动物基因和兽医护理而改善牲畜 (尤其是鸡、羊、牛) 健康并增加产量的研究。为确保农民可以受益于动物健康和基因技术,我们通过不同模型,为农民提供所需的知识和工具,以增加其牲畜产量,并助其与获得稳定的 市场机会。我们的工作特别注重增加为妇女带来收入的机会;妇女也许对生产资源 (例如土地) 控制权极低,但有时却拥有且控制牲畜,特别是家禽和山羊。

资源获取与市场体系

新方案帮助农民利用手机获取作物相关信息。

我们支持旨在将适当的新型工具和耕作方法送到农民手中的工作。其中包括提供改良型种子,并让农民获得更好的关于土壤、水和牲畜的解决方案。我们研究通过手机和收音机等技术促进知识交流的途径。我们还与农民组织合作,帮助农民培养商业管理技能、提高购买力和营销优势、改善作物和资源管理技能。其他重点工作包括帮助农民改进储存和收后活动,达到质量和数量承诺,与大规模的可靠市场接轨,并与买家、加工企业和农民组织建立合作关系。

战略伙伴关系与倡导

为了实现可持续农业生产力这一目标,我们的策略注重与捐赠国、多边机构、私人基金会和其他组织建立密切的合作关系。在巩固现有合作关系的同时,我们还与巴西、中国等国建立了新的合作关系,这些国家通过技术和政策创新来发展其农业,对促进我们工作地区的农业增长发挥着越来越重要的作用。通过倡导和投资活动,我们不断寻找创新的解决方案,以因应农业政策面临的挑战,并为解决这些挑战,强化政府的政治意愿,争取公众的支持。我们的总目标是确保捐赠者和发展中国家的投资和政策能支持可持续的小农户生产力。

访问我们的博客

What We Do

Agricultural Development

Strategy Overview

Print

A maize farmer in Tanzania whose crop yields have increased through the use of better seeds.

our goal:

to reduce hunger and poverty for millions of farming families in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia by increasing agricultural productivity in a sustainable way.

The Challenge

At A Glance

Nearly 1 billion people worldwide are affected by severe hunger and poverty. Many are farmers who rely on small plots of land (about one to two acres) for their food and income.

Our goal is to help these farming families produce more food and increase their income, while preserving the land for future generations.

We focus on the crops and livestock that are most important to farming families in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.

Helping women farmers is one of our top priorities because women do much of the agricultural work and their well-being affects the health, welfare, and education of their children.

Our Agricultural Development strategy, updated in 2011, is led by Pamela Anderson, director, and is part of the foundation’s Global Development Division.

From the 1960s to 1980s, the “Green Revolution” in Asia and Latin America—a sweeping effort to transform farming methods and improve staple crops such as maize, wheat, and rice—helped to double food production and saved hundreds of millions of lives.

Many governments and donors subsequently shifted their attention to other concerns, believing that the problem of inadequate food supply in the developing world had been solved. This was not the case in Sub-Saharan Africa, however, where some Green Revolution approaches were tried but failed.

Meanwhile, in the intervening years, population growth, rising incomes, dwindling natural resources, and a changing climate have caused food prices to rise and agricultural productivity has once again become strained.

Many of those affected are smallholder farmers. Three-quarters of the world’s poorest people get their food and income by farming small plots of land about the size of a football field. Most of them barely get by—struggling with unproductive soil, plant diseases, pests, and drought. Their livestock are frequently weak or sick. Reliable markets for their products and good information about pricing are hard to come by, and government policies rarely serve their interests well.

These factors, in turn, put millions of families at risk for poverty and hunger as well as malnutrition—the world’s most serious health problem and the single biggest contributor to child mortality. At the same time, one consequence of the first Green Revolution—excessive fertilizer use leading to water pollution—underscores the importance of sustainability to safeguard both environmental and human health.

The Opportunity

Helping farming families increase production in a sustainable way, and sell more crops, is the most effective way to reduce hunger and poverty over the long term.

Dairy farmers in Bangladesh are benefiting from programs that help them increase production and improve veterinary care.

When farmers grow more food and earn more income, they are better able feed to their families, send their children to school, provide for their family’s health, and invest in their farms. This makes their communities economically stronger and more stable.

Helping farmers improve their yields requires a comprehensive approach that includes the use of seeds that are more resistant to disease, drought, and flooding; information from trusted local sources about more productive farming techniques and technologies; greater access to markets; and government policies that serve the interests of farming families.

Agricultural development must also address gender disparities. In Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia, women are vital contributors to farm work, but because they have less access to improved seeds, better techniques and technologies, and markets, yields on their plots are typically 20 to 40 percent lower than on plots farmed by men. Addressing this gap can help households become more productive and reduce malnutrition within poor families.

Our Strategy

Agricultural Development is one of the largest initiatives of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. To date, we have committed more than US$2 billion to agricultural development efforts, primarily in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. Our approach is based on the following principles:

  • Listening to farmers and addressing their specific needs. We talk to farmers about the crops they want to grow and eat, as well as the unique challenges they face. We partner with organizations that understand and are equipped to address these challenges, and we invest in research to identify relevant and affordable solutions that farmers want and will use. 
  • Increasing farm productivity. We support a comprehensive approach to helping smallholder farmers prosper that includes access to heartier seeds, more effective tools and farm management practices, locally relevant knowledge, emerging digital technologies, and reliable markets. We also advocate for agricultural policies that support farmers in their efforts to better feed themselves and their communities.
  • Fostering sustainable agricultural practices. In an era of increasingly scarce resources and growing impact of climate change, we encourage farmers to embrace and adopt sustainable practices that help them grow more with less land, water, fertilizer, and other costly inputs while preserving natural resources for future generations.
  • Achieving greater impact with partners. We are committed to communicating our strategy more effectively and sharing what we’ve learned with grantees and other partners, including governments, nongovernmental organizations, traditional and emerging donors, and the private sector. Our resources, while significant, represent only a fraction of what is needed. Collaborating effectively with others maximizes our collective impact in helping farming families.

Areas of Focus

We invest in the following strategic areas that we believe will help address the challenges and local realities faced by farming families in the developing world.

Research and Development

Researchers are seeking ways to combat crop disease such as those infecting the cassava plants on this Tanzania farm.

We support research to develop more productive and nutritious varieties of the staple crops grown and consumed by farming families. These include varieties adapted to local conditions that deliver specific benefits farmers seek, such as increased yields, better nutrition, and tolerance to drought, flood, and pests. We fund research to discover ways to better manage soil and water resources and reduce crop loss due to spoilage, weeds, pests, disease, and other threats.

Agricultural Policies

Timely, relevant, and accurate information is crucial to farmers. Policymakers in developing countries also need good data to inform their decision making. We support data collection, research, and policy analysis to help evaluate the impact of various approaches, get accurate information to farmers, and assess the effects of national and international agricultural policies. Our research also includes measuring the progress of our grants to ensure that they are delivering the anticipated benefits to farming families.

Livestock

Livestock is a key part of farming in developing countries and is crucial to the livelihoods of more than 900 million people in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. We support efforts to improve the health and productivity of livestock—particularly chickens, goats, and cows—by improving animal genetics and veterinary care. To ensure that farmers can benefit from animal health and genetics technologies, we test models for providing farmers with the knowledge and tools they need to increase their on-farm production and connect to stable markets. Our work particularly aims to increase income-generating opportunities for women, who may have little control over productive resources such as land but sometimes own and control livestock, especially poultry and goats.

Access and Market Systems

New programs enable farmers to access crop-related information via cell-phone

We support efforts to get new and appropriate tools and farming practices into the hands of farmers. This includes improved seeds and access to better soil, water, and livestock solutions. We look for ways to strengthen knowledge exchange through technologies such as mobile phones and radio. We also work with farmers’ organizations to help farmers hone their business management skills, gain greater purchasing power and marketing leverage, and improve their crop and resource management skills. Additional priorities include helping farmers improve their storage and post-harvest activities, meet quality and quantity commitments, link to large-scale and reliable markets, and establish partnerships with buyers, processors, and farmers’ organizations.

Strategic Partnerships and Advocacy

To achieve the goal of sustainable agricultural productivity, our strategy relies on strong partnerships with donor countries, multilateral institutions, private foundations, and other organizations. While strengthening existing partnerships, we are building new partnerships with countries such as Brazil and China, which have developed their own agricultural sectors through technological and policy innovation and are increasingly important to agricultural growth in the regions where we work. Through our advocacy efforts and investments, we seek innovative solutions to agricultural policy challenges and we work to foster the political will and public support to solve them. Our overall goal is to ensure that donor and developing-country investments and policies support sustainable smallholder farmer productivity.

Visit Our Blog

Connect