我们的运作方式

Building Changes

向後

打印

致力于消除华盛顿州的无家可归现象

在华盛顿州,每天晚上都有两万多人无家可归,其中近一半是全家人在外流浪。2000 年,比尔及梅琳达•盖茨基金会首次投入资金以解决该州的无家可归问题,其主要目标是在该州人口最多的三个郡——国王郡、皮尔斯郡和斯诺霍米什郡——将过渡性住房供应量增加到原来的三倍。几年来,基金会帮助建造了 1,400 余所过渡性住房,供无家可归的家庭居住。

然而,尽管付出了这些努力,与该项工作启动时相比,该地区无家可归家庭的数量反而有所增加。基金会从这一经验教训中认识到,增加住房供给虽然能让个别家庭受益,但仅仅依靠这项措施并不能明显减少无家可归家庭总数。事实上,要想消除家庭无家可归现象,需要采取彼此协调的系统性方法,帮助各类资助系统和住房提供商以互为推进的方式开展合作。例如,通过研究当地为解决无家可归问题所做的工作,基金会发现,华盛顿的无家可归家庭必须联系多个不同的机构才能获得各类帮助,许多家庭需苦等数月之久。一个家庭往往要同多个社工打交道,而这些社工之间既无法共享信息,也不能相互协调工作。

于是,基金会开始寻找合作伙伴,该组织必须能够联合公共和私人力量以解决该州的无家可归问题,同时鼓励政府、服务提供商及慈善捐赠者开展合作,共同实施全国范围内的创新举措。基金会最终选择了 Building Changes,这家小型非营利组织成立于数十年前,总部设在西雅图,专注于满足艾滋病人群的住房需求。该组织成立时名为华盛顿 AIDS 之家 (AIDS Housing of Washington),当时该组织还管理着一个覆盖全州的资助项目——华盛顿家庭基金,帮助解决该州的无家可归现象。

“碰撞出火花”

自 2007 年起的三年内,基金会与 Building Changes 都投入了巨大的努力,使这家非营利组织在基础设施、人员配备、专业知识和商业计划等方面做好充分准备,继而成为基金会的正式合作伙伴,以落实基金会在改善家庭无家可归问题上的重要工作。这一过程被基金会的 David Wertheimer 形容为“对双方来说都很有趣,有时颇具挑战,偶尔令人痛苦”,在此过程中,双方建立形成了相互信任、坦诚、透明且灵活的合作关系。

“随着时间的推移,这逐渐地变成了一个高度互动的规划过程,”Wertheimer 说道,他是基金会太平洋西北项目的副主任,负责管理基金会在解决无家可归问题上的工作。Building Changes 渐渐有能力在必要时提出反对意见,而基金会也变得更加灵活、更注重协作。“在这个领域,我们的想法未必是最高明的,”他如是评价基金会。“我们需要接受不同的看法,而要做到这一点就必须聆听合作伙伴的意见,因为他们处在相当复杂的环境中。”

“作为合作伙伴,你必须坚持自己的角色和立场,”Building Changes 的执行董事 Alice Shobe 说道。她形容这一合作关系为“有益的火花”,对 Building Changes 来说,这意味着开诚布公,意味着明确而直接地表明自己的需求。“这促进了基金会和 Building Changes 之间的相互理解和合作,”她说道。

战略的启动

基金会与 Building Changes 共同制定的战略于 2009 年正式启动,目标是在 2020 年前将这一地区的无家可归家庭数量减半。该战略的重点任务包括:提供各类服务以防止家庭陷入无家可归境地;使家庭能够“一站式”获得所有住房和支持服务;尽快将家庭安置到永久住所;根据每个家庭的具体需要提供量身定制的服务;以及开展各项计划帮助人们获得培训并找到稳定的工作。这些工作主要集中在国王郡、皮尔斯郡和斯诺霍米什郡,这意味着与郡政府的合作是这一战略能否成功的关键所在。

Wertheimer 承认,Building Changes 同意与基金会合作是冒着巨大风险的。“他们需要从根本上转变组织性质,同时遵循一套全新的变革理论以解决无家可归问题,”他说道。“这对他们来说是一场很大的赌注,这的确对我们双方都提出了新的挑战,使我们不得不全力以赴。”

Wertheimer 表示,双方的关系已经非常透明,基金会甚至会与 Building Changes 分享原先视作机密的内部战略评审文件,该文件每年编制,供基金会领导层参阅。“这种程度的信任与坦诚并非一朝一夕能达到的,”Wertheimer 说道。“只有尽力打破受资助者和出资者之间显而易见的权力不平衡,才能实现这种程度的沟通和交流。充分利用这种良性的摩擦和分歧,双方便能发现有价值的见解,共同成长进步。”

访问我们的博客

How We Work

Building Changes

Back

Print

Working to end homelessness in Washington State

More than 20,000 people are homeless on any given night in Washington State; families comprise almost half of that number. The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation made its first investments to address homelessness in the state in 2000, with the primary aim of tripling the supply of transitional housing in the state’s three most populous counties: King, Pierce, and Snohomish. Over several years, the foundation’s efforts led to the creation of more than 1,400 transitional homes for families emerging from homelessness.

At the end of this effort, however, the region had more homeless families than when the work started. The foundation concluded from this experience that simply increasing housing would not result in the desired reductions in family homelessness overall, despite benefiting individual families. Rather, ending family homelessness would require a systematic, coordinated approach to help a broad range of support systems and housing providers work together in mutually reinforcing ways. For example, by studying local efforts to address homelessness, the foundation learned that families who became homeless in Washington State had to contact multiple agencies for different kinds of assistance and that many people languished on waiting lists for months. A single family would often interact with multiple case workers who had no means of sharing information with each other or coordinating their efforts.

The foundation began looking for a partner organization that could help align public and private efforts to combat homelessness in the state and could encourage governments, service providers, and philanthropic donors to collaborate on implementing innovative approaches from around the country. It chose Building Changes, a small Seattle-based nonprofit created several decades earlier to focus on the housing needs of people living with AIDS. Known at the time as AIDS Housing of Washington, the organization was also administering a statewide grant program to address homelessness called the Washington Families Fund.

Compassionate Arm Wrestling

Over a three-year period starting in 2007, the foundation and Building Changes worked intensively to prepare the nonprofit organization—in terms of infrastructure, staffing, expertise, and business planning—to be a partner in implementing the foundation’s priorities in the area of family homelessness. In the course of that process, which the foundation’s David Wertheimer calls “interesting, at times challenging, and occasionally painful to both organizations,” the two parties came to forge a relationship based on trust, candor, transparency, and flexibility.

“It became a highly mutual planning process over time,” says Wertheimer, who is deputy director of the foundation’s Pacific Northwest program and oversees the foundation’s work on homelessness. Building Changes developed the strength to push back when necessary, and the foundation in turn became more flexible and collaborative. “We aren’t necessarily the smartest thinkers on the block,” he says of the foundation. “We need to be open to perspectives that differ from our own, and that can happen only when we listen to our partners. They are working in a highly complicated environment.”

“As a partner, you have to own your role and your power,” says Alice Shobe, the executive director of Building Changes. She describes the relationship as “compassionate arm wrestling,” which for Building Changes involved both being candid and asking clearly and directly for what they needed. “This fostered mutual agreement and a collaborative partnership between the foundation and Building Changes,” she says.

Launching a Strategy

The strategy shared by the foundation and Building Changes officially launched in 2009, with the goal of reducing family homelessness in the region by half by 2020. Priorities include services to prevent families from becoming homeless, a single point of access for all housing and support services, rapid placement in permanent housing, tailored services to meet each family’s specific needs, and programs to help people train for and find stable jobs. The efforts are focused in King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties, which means that collaborating with county governments is central to the success of the strategy.

Wertheimer acknowledges that Building Changes took a huge risk in agreeing to work with the foundation. “They faced the task of changing fundamentally who they were as an organization and working with an entirely new theory of change to address the issue of homelessness,” he says. “It was a big bet for them, and it really stretched them—and us—in new and challenging ways.”

He says the relationship has grown so transparent that the foundation even shares with Building Changes the formerly confidential internal strategy review documents prepared annually for foundation leadership. “It’s taken years to build this level of trust and openness,” he says. “We need to do our best to step out of the perceived power imbalance between grantee and funder to achieve that level of communication. It’s all about making the best use of the creative tension and disagreements that offer the opportunity for insight and growth.”

Visit Our Blog

Connect