如果……世界将会怎样?

来自盖茨基金会首席执行官苏珊•德斯蒙德-赫尔曼的一封信
Sue Desmond-Hellmann 首席执行官, 盖茨基金会

正是这个问题把盖茨基金会的所有同事紧密地团结在一起。

如果贫困地区不再遭受传染病的困扰,世界将会怎样?如果全球各地的妇女和女孩都能拥有改变自身命运的力量,世界将会怎样?如果所有儿童—尤其是最贫困国家的儿童,都能获得公平发展的机会,世界将会怎样?

过去超过15年来,盖茨基金会一直在追寻这些问题的答案。所有生命价值平等—这一信念指导了我们的一切行动,引领我们帮助人们消除贫困、创造机遇。

在印度比哈尔邦帕特纳区的丹玛蒂亚·提毗家探望她和她的孩子。
访问华盛顿州西雅图市White Center Heights 小学的学生们。
Left Photo: 在印度比哈尔邦帕特纳区的丹玛蒂亚·提毗家探望她和她的孩子。
Right Photo: 访问华盛顿州西雅图市White Center Heights 小学的学生们。

两年前,我加入盖茨基金会担任首席执行官一职。虽然两年时间已经足以让我做出一些反思,但我仍然把自己看作一名新人。

我们是谁?我们是做什么的?我们是怎么做的?这些问题仍然有待进一步明确。虽然我在这封信中无法做出全面的回答,但是我希望在此分享我们工作中的一些例子,以增进你对我们的了解,其中有些你可能从来没有听说过。

在我们所开展的项目中,有些运转状况比我们期望的要好,有些项目的发展潜力可能会令你和我一样感到惊叹。当然,在复杂的挑战面前,我们也时常需要调整和修正自己的路径,以便找到最佳对策。

我希望这封信能够开启我们与合作伙伴、支持者,以及和我们一样的乐观主义者的对话,探讨我们在寻求一切可能性的过程中所面临的各种挑战,无论这些挑战是鼓舞人心、还是令人生畏的。

我们的使命:确保更多儿童和青少年得以生存并茁壮成长。我们相信,当下一代能够获得优质的医疗服务和良好的教育时,这将是他们走出贫困的第一步。
我们的使命:赋予最贫困人口,特别是妇女和女孩,改善生活的能力。我们相信,通过为贫困人群提供工具,让他们能够过上健康而富有成效的生活,我们可以帮助他们摆脱贫困。
我们的使命:抗击影响最贫困人口的传染性疾病。我们相信,通过让最有需要的人享有最先进的科学技术成果,我们将能挽救他们的生命。
我们的使命:激励人们行动起来,改变世界。我们知道,单凭自己的资源还不够,所以我们通过倡导公共政策、改变态度和行为来改善人们的生活。

比尔和梅琳达指引着我们的愿景,并将最重要的问题推向全球舞台,唤起各界关注。我的工作重点在于将自己的专长和热情倾注到基金会的日常管理中,以不断提升我们的能力,从而最终实现我们的愿景。

作为一家基金会,我们将自身的策略与全球面临的挑战紧密联系在一起。我们不断做出改变,以适应日新月异的世界并应对新的挑战。例如,类似寨卡病毒等流行病的爆发,就促使我们与合作伙伴做出快速响应。我们希望比以往任何时候都走得更快、走得更远。

这就意味着我们必须敢于承担他人无法承担或不愿承担的风险,还意味着必须在现有基础上通过创新手段找出问题的解决方案。比如,我已经开始探索如何将精准医疗的基本原理应用于公共卫生领域。

最重要的是,我们的任何工作都依赖于合作伙伴,每个人都需要发挥自己的优势。随着时间的推移,盖茨基金会的优势不断显现出来:那就是我们把人们汇聚起来的能力。

我们的管理层每年用大量时间与发展中国家和捐赠国政府、国际发展组织、私营企业、学术机构,以及其他非盈利和慈善组织建立合作关系。我们希望成为彼此最得力的合作伙伴。因此,了解对方的优先需求,同时明确我们自己的工作重点,就变得至关重要。

为了确保项目顺利实施、工具得到完善和部署、行为模式实现预期的改变,我们还必须了解当地情况。在设计和示范符合本地特点的创新方案时,当地合作伙伴扮演着关键的角色。

我们希望了解所有不同的观点、掌握各种可能的解决方案。我们谁都不愿意错过任何可能奏效的方法。

烟草控制

我对我们的合作伙伴充满敬畏。他们向我们证明了“一切皆有可能”,并且有些事情的发展可以比我们预想的还要好。

作为一名曾执业多年的医生和癌症研究者,我深感烟草控制的重要性。

全球吸烟人口超过10亿。在正常使用的情况下,烟草制品是唯一一种能够让高达一半使用者丧命的消费品。每年有600万人死于烟草相关疾病,其中包括60万被动吸烟受害者。如果目前的趋势继续下去,到2030年,烟草每年致死人数将超过800万人—其中有80%来自发展中国家。

2008年以来,盖茨基金会向非洲和亚洲30多个国家的控烟伙伴提供了2.25亿美元的资助。我们的控烟努力最初始于对“彭博减少烟草使用倡议行动”(Bloomberg Initiative)的资助,该组织至今仍是盖茨基金会的重要合作伙伴。

净化环境

盖茨基金会有一个专门的控烟项目团队。作为首席执行官,我很高兴看到我们有一个如此高效灵活的团队负责赠款的开展和管理,并充分发挥受助国当地合作伙伴的优势与专长。

我们的角色在于倾听受助国的实际需求,并向合适的合作伙伴提供资源,以支持那些经过实践证明最有效的控烟举措的实施。

一个非常了不起的例子是菲律宾的全国控烟行动。2013年,菲律宾政府不顾烟草产业的强烈反对,通过了具有里程碑意义的罪恶税法案,对烟草产品征收高达820%的税收。

法案通过后仅一年,菲律宾政府就获得了9.8亿美元的新烟草税收入—这一数字远高于当初预期。卷烟价格水涨船高,导致菲律宾总体吸烟率下降,其中18-24岁的年轻人群体和极端贫困人口的吸烟率下降幅度最大。由于价格上涨,烟民们原本用来买烟的钱则可以省下来,用于购买生活必需品。

事实还远不止于此。

罪恶税法案所创造的税收令菲律宾卫生部的预算接近翻番,为菲律宾4300万贫困人口提供了全额医保补贴,使得菲律宾国家医保计划覆盖的贫困家庭数量达到了以前的近三倍。

这样的健康干预项目令我无比振奋。它不仅实现了控烟效果,还创造了新的税收来源,由此产生的收益进一步加强了医疗卫生体系的建设。

一个致命寄生虫的故事

我们的核心使命之一是抗击传染病,尤其是那些危害最贫困人口的传染病。我们的全球健康工作中的一大重点是防控包括脊髓灰质炎、疟疾、HIV/艾滋病、腹泻、肺炎和肺结核等在内的传染病,它们每年都会夺走大量贫困人口的生命。

此外,我们还重点关注“被忽视的热带病”(NTDs)。此类疾病过去得到的捐款和关注寥寥无几。然而,发展中国家有超过10亿人被NTD所困扰,这使得多方合作抗击NTD的行动成为历史上规模最大的医疗干预行动—同时也是最不为人知的。

这些疾病危害着那些居住在最偏远地区的“被忽视”的人,他们拥有最少的资源,几乎享受不到任何医疗卫生服务。

但是,一种热带病的防控进展引起了我的关注,令我非常激动:非洲人类锥形虫病(HAT),或称非洲昏睡病。

HAT是由非洲采采蝇所引发的寄生虫病,威胁着撒哈拉以南非洲的数百万人口,如果不加以治疗,被感染者死亡率接近百分之百。

“对于昏睡病这一全世界都不关注的疾病,我们拥有消灭它所需的全部资源”

   
令人惊奇的是,对于这一全世界都不关注的传染病,我们拥有根除它所需的全部资源,并且消灭它的速度将远超你的想象。

在乌干达的疾控进展证实了这一点。2006年,乌干达发现了将近300例感染病例。到了2013年,这一数字下降为10例。今年则只有4例。

这正是盖茨基金会为何投资创新技术的原因所在。目前,我们投资开发出的新诊断技术和新药物已进入临床试验阶段,控制采采蝇数量的杀虫剂也已出现,消灭脊髓灰质炎过程中积累的先进测图和微观规划经验也能够帮助我们大幅提高精准度。

昏睡病是一种通过采采蝇传播的致命疾病,对非洲农村贫困人口的危害尤其大。如今,得益于筛查、治疗和病媒控制领域的科技进步,这种疾病已接近灭绝。
HAT
筛查: 现有的筛查流程是先进行血液初步筛查,然后通过抽血或淋巴结抽出物进行确认检查。如检查结果为阳性,则再进行脊椎穿刺,以确定病情发展阶段。未来,筛查只须一次快速验血即可完成。
HAT
治疗: 几十年来,唯一的治疗方法是砷基药物,致死率高达10%。最近,一种更有效的药物已投入使用,但必须在诊所进行注射或输液至少7天。目前,有两种口服药物正在试验阶段,将有望进一步简化治疗。
HAT
病媒控制: 多年来,采采蝇的控制方法一直是使用大型捕捉器,每平方公里成本高达482美元。新的“小目标”捕捉器更小、更便宜——每个约1美元,每平方公里成本85美元。
抗击昏睡病:从三方面入手

然而,只有当创新成果能够送达那些有需要的人手中时,才能真正发挥作用。以刚果民主共和国为例,那里的发病率最高,但是由于资金不足、地处偏远,且疾控工作不被重视,昏睡病防控工作停滞不前。

我们需要让人们相信:我们有希望建立一个没有昏睡病的世界。为此,我们必须问自己:我们能不能确立一个更高的目标?

答案是不折不扣的“能”。

我们对此感到乐观的一个原因在于,我们看到有越来越多的私营部门伙伴带着各自的资源和技术加入我们的行列,这在全球健康和发展史上前所未有。

在消灭HAT的每个环节—采采蝇控制、诊断和治疗中,都有一家商业伙伴参与其中。

为了让市场为穷人服务,盖茨基金会承担了私营企业不能或不愿承担的财务风险。但是,在消灭昏睡病这件事上,企业是缺乏市场激励的,也根本没有可能从中获得大量利润,他们有的仅仅是为改善公共卫生做出贡献的机会。

换句话说,参与昏睡病防治项目的私营企业伙伴只有一个念头:这是在做一件正确的事。

我职业生涯中的很长时间都是在生物制药行业度过的。私营企业在帮助贫困人口解决问题方面展现出的潜力令我震撼。企业社会责任是产生影响力的一条途径。我们还希望通过与私营部门建立互惠互利的伙伴关系,从而解决市场失灵的问题。当我们能充分发挥各自的优势时,所创造的可能性将远远超出我们的预期。

美国教育项目带来的经验与教训

早在创立之初,比尔和梅琳达就希望把基金会打造成一个学习型组织,一个依赖科学实证不断自我修正的组织。我们希望变得越来越聪明。我们最大的学习领域之一就是我们的美国K-12教育项目。

我们坚信,在美国,教育是通往机遇的桥梁。去年,我的同事Allan Golston在一次教育专家会议上充满激情地就此发表了演讲。

然而,我们发现,实现系统性的变革是一项十分艰难的任务。

对于今天太多的学生而言,通往充实而美好人生的道路上充满着障碍和不确定性。2015年,ACT发布的《就业及大学入学条件》研究表明,只有40%的美国学生达到4项大学入学要求(英文、阅读、数学和科学)中的3项。有色人种学生的成绩更差。

统计结果令人难以置信,但却是事实。要想建设更多高水平的公立学校,挑战巨大。

但是,我乐观地认为,向学生提出高要求会让所有学生都有机会茁壮成长。当教育者们对学生在每年末应该达到什么水平具有明确而一致的期望时,通往机遇的大门就敞开了。《共同核心州立标准》(Common Core State Standards)就能够帮助他们确定合理的期望。

“我们坚信,在美国,教育是通往机遇的桥梁。”

在一些采用《共同核心标准》的州,我们看到学生成绩已经有所提升。首个采用该标准的肯塔基州就是一个突出案例。

为了实施《共同核心标准》,肯塔基州与社区、学生家长、教师和学校领导们合作,共同制定了互相关联的标准体系、教师反馈和支持制度,以及评估标准。由此,自2011年以来,肯塔基州满足四项ACT大学入学标准中至少三项的学生比例从27%提升至33%。而在全国范围内,这一比例自2011年以来基本没有变化。因此,肯塔基州这个6%的提升意义非凡。

全面而深入的合作与参与是取得成功的关键。如果教师没有获得足够资源帮助学生,再严苛的标准和再高的期望也无济于事。

我们的公立教育体系需要大量资源实施上述标准,不幸的是,我们的基金会低估了对于这些资源和支持的需求。在早期阶段,我们没有充分调动教育者—尤其是教师,也包括学生父母和社区的参与积极性,因此错失了从一开始就让这些标准见效的机会。

比尔及梅琳达•盖茨夫妇访问位于肯塔基州东部的贝齐·莱恩高中(Betsy Layne High School)。

这对我们而言并非一个容易接受的教训,但是我们已经将其铭记于心。改进美国教育这一任务庞大而复杂,对此盖茨基金会并不清楚所有问题的答案。

但是,每一个惨痛的教训都将增强我们帮助教师和学生迈向成功的承诺。

所有教师和学生都应当得到最高质量的学习材料。但是有多个地区报告称,很难找到或编写符合《共同核心标准》的材料,教师们不得不花费大量时间制定课程和教案,并搜寻教辅材料。

我的工作中最棒的一部分就是倾听教育者的意见。没有谁比教师更懂如何教学。由此,我们付出了双倍努力以确保教师得到所需的材料,从而使他们得以发挥各自的独特优势。

作为教学辅助手段的数字化内容和工具—包括LearnZillion、Better Lesson和EngageNY—为数以百万计的教师提供了传统教科书之外的优质内容。

我们正在与K-12课程调查报告的编写者EdReports合作,针对各类教学材料提供免费及开放的教师审核意见。这将有助于全美国的教育者寻找、编写及获取符合《共同核心标准》的高品质教学材料。

我们对美国教育体系的学习才刚刚开始,我们不会浅尝辄止。我们从合作伙伴,尤其是教育者那里获得的经验教训将帮助美国教育体系发挥其应有的作用,再一次成为社会公平的助推器,对此我充满乐观。

想象一切可能性

最后,我想和你们分享Haliru Usman的故事。

Usman先生是一位尼日利亚环境卫生官员。他负责采集大量污水样本供我们进行脊髓灰质炎病毒检测。我是在访问Kaduna州时认识他的。当时我正在考察当地的疾病监控系统,这对于实现全球消灭脊髓灰质炎的目标是一项至关重要的创新。

Usman从事的工作能够拯救生命、预防疾病,他为此深感自豪。

尼日利亚环境卫生官员Haliru Usman在污水样本中检测脊髓灰质炎病毒。

Usman完全有理由自豪。在我访问尼日利亚1个月后,该国实现了一年无新发脊髓灰质炎病例的里程碑。整个非洲在整整一年内没有一个孩子因为感染脊髓灰质炎野病毒而瘫痪,这是有史以来第一次。

这一进展是全球消灭脊髓灰质炎计划(GPEI)数十年来不懈努力的结晶。早在盖茨基金会参与之前,GPEI的成员就已经奋战在抗击病毒的第一线,致力于彻底消除这一疾病。今天,抗击脊髓灰质炎所取得的进步已经成为一个美丽的故事。

随着整个世界把目光转向消灭脊髓灰质炎的最后两个阵地:巴基斯坦和阿富汗,我们不禁再次发问:如果……世界将会怎样?

如果我们通过提供最先进的科学技术、依靠全球合作伙伴,并动员类似Usman这样的民间英雄和医护人员的力量,实现消灭脊髓灰质炎这一人类数十年来的夙愿,世界将会怎样?

我们深感荣幸,能够有机会与众多伙伴合作,书写历史的答卷。

脊髓灰质炎的根除意味着我们将成功清除人类历史上最古老的瘟疫之一,这将证明我们也有能力根除其他危害贫困人口的疾病。

我们相信,这个愿景完全可能实现。这个愿景始于我们创建一个没有脊髓灰质炎的世界的雄心壮志。在这个目标的指引下,我们已经取得长足的进步。

在我们并肩携手拥抱新的全球目标之际,不妨想象一下我们在未来可能取得的更大成就。

$name

What if...

A letter from the CEO of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Sue Desmond
Sue Desmond-Hellmann CEO, BILL & MELINDA GATES FOUNDATION

One question unites those of us who work at the Gates Foundation: What if?

What if infectious diseases could no longer wreak havoc on poor communities? What if women and girls everywhere were empowered to transform their lives? What if all children – especially the poorest – had an equal opportunity to reach their full potential?

For more than 15 years, the Gates Foundation has been imagining what’s possible. Our belief that all lives have equal value guides everything we do to eradicate poverty and increase opportunity for the people we serve.

Visiting with Dhanmatia Devi and her children at her home in the Patna district of Bihar, India.
Visiting students at White Center Heights Elementary School in Seattle, WA.
As CEO of the Gates Foundation, I’ve had the privilege of traveling around the world and the country to meet our grantees and partners. Here I’m visiting Dhanmatia Devi and her children at her home in the Patna district of Bihar, India, and visiting students at White Center Heights Elementary School in Seattle, WA.

Throughout my career, including 14 years at Genentech, I’ve sought to bridge healthcare and innovation. Everything I do is driven by the fact that the lives of fellow human beings are at stake—and we can do something about it.

I joined the Gates Foundation as its chief executive two years ago. I’ve been here long enough to reflect, but I still think of myself as a relative newcomer.

There are aspects of who we are, what we do, and how we do it that aren’t as clear as they should be. I can’t cover every topic, but this letter is meant to undo some of that fuzziness by sharing examples of our work, including some you might not have known about.

Some initiatives are working better than we thought. Others show possibilities that you might find surprising. We’ve also had to course correct when we struggle to land on the best way to tackle complex challenges.

I want this letter to be the start of a new dialogue with our partners, followers, and fellow optimists about the inspiring and humbling challenge of navigating the path to possibility.

Our mission: Ensure more children and young people survive and thrive. We believe that the path out of poverty begins when the next generation can access quality healthcare and a great education.
Our mission: Empower the poorest, especially women and girls, to transform their lives. We believe that by giving people the tools to lead healthy, productive lives, we can help them lift themselves out of poverty.
Our mission: Combat infectious diseases that particularly affect the poorest. We believe we can save lives by delivering the latest in science and technology to those with the greatest needs.
Our mission: To inspire people to take action to change the world. We know our resources alone are not enough, so we work to change public policies, attitudes, and behaviors to improve lives.

Bill and Melinda guide our vision and bring crucial priorities to the global stage. I focus my expertise and passion on leading the foundation and boosting our ability to have impact in order to realize our vision.

As a foundation, we align ourselves and our strategies to shared global goals. Equally, we push ourselves to adapt to a changing world and confront emerging challenges. Pandemics like the Zika virus, for example, demand that we work quickly with partners in the face of urgency. We want to go faster and further than ever before.

That means we take risks others can’t or won’t. It also means building on what we know to approach problems in new ways. For example, I’ve begun exploring what can happen when the principles of precision medicine are applied to the field of public health.

Above all, everything we do depends on partnership—and we all need to play to our strengths. More and more, the Gates Foundation’s strength manifests as the ability to bring people together.

Our senior leadership dedicate a significant portion of their time building relationships with developing and donor country governments, international development agencies, private companies, and academic institutions, as well as other nonprofits and philanthropies. We want to be the best partner possible, so understanding each other’s priorities – and being clear about our own – is essential.

In order for programs to be delivered, tools to be honed and deployed, and behaviors to change we also have to understand local context. In-country partners are critical to creating and demonstrating innovative approaches that are grounded in local realities.

We want all perspectives (and all possible solutions) at the table. None of us wants to wall off any avenue to impact.

Taking on Tobacco

I am in awe of our partners. They show us what is possible and, at times, demonstrate that some things can work even better than we thought.

As someone who spent a significant portion of my career as a physician and cancer researcher, tobacco control really resonates with me.

More than a billion people use tobacco products worldwide. When used as directed, they are the only consumer products that will kill half of all users. Nearly 6 million people die of tobacco-related diseases each year, including more than 600,000 nonsmokers who are exposed to secondhand smoke. If current trends persist, the tobacco epidemic could kill more than 8 million people each year by 2030—80 percent of them in developing countries.

Since 2008, the Gates Foundation has committed over $225 million to partners who are working to address the tobacco epidemic in more than 30 countries in Africa and Asia. Our efforts began with an investment in the Bloomberg Initiative, which remains a key partner to this day.

We have a small team at the foundation who work on tobacco control. As CEO, I’m excited that we have a nimble team making and managing a portfolio of grants. But I’m even more excited by the fact that this means we’re truly leveraging the knowledge and expertise of our partners and the countries we support.

Our role is to listen to what countries need and provide resources to the right mix of partners that can support implementation of the top evidence-based tobacco control measures.

One incredible example of country-led tobacco control is happening in the Philippines. In 2013, the Philippine Government stood strong in the face of intense tobacco industry opposition and implemented the landmark Sin Tax Law, which increased taxes on tobacco by up to 820 percent.

After just one year, the government earned $980 million in new tobacco tax revenue – far exceeding projections. Cigarette prices also increased, leading to an overall decline in smoking in the Philippines, with the largest reductions among young adults (18-24 year olds) and the very poor. Money saved from not buying tobacco products due to increased prices can be spent on essential household items.

It gets even better.

Revenue from the Sin Tax nearly doubled the Philippine Department of Health budget, and financed the extension of fully subsidized health insurance for more than 43 million poor Filipinos – nearly tripling the amount of poor families enrolled in the National Health Insurance Program.

This is the kind of health intervention that gets me really excited. It’s curbing the tobacco epidemic—and it’s doing it with a revenue-generating solution, the proceeds of which are reinforcing the larger health system.

The Surprising Story of a Nasty Parasite 

One of our core missions is to combat infectious diseases, particularly those that affect the poorest. We focus a large part of our health work on diseases such as polio, malaria, HIV/AIDS, diarrheal diseases, pneumonia, and tuberculosis—diseases that take a huge toll on people living in poverty.

We also prioritize what are called neglected tropical diseases (NTDs), which, historically, have attracted little donor funding or attention. Yet, more than a billion people in developing countries suffer from one or more NTDs, making joint efforts to combat NTDs the largest medical intervention in history—and at the same time the most unknown.

These are diseases of neglected people, those living in the hardest-to-reach places, with the fewest resources, and very limited access to healthcare—if any.

But progress against one tropical disease caught me by surprise: Human African trypanosomiasis or HAT—also known as sleeping sickness.

HAT is a parasitic infection spread through tsetse flies. It endangers millions in sub-Saharan Africa, and is nearly 100 percent fatal if left untreated.

“We have what it takes to eliminate sleeping sickness – a disease the world doesn’t pay attention to.”

   
Here’s the surprising part: We have what it takes to eliminate sleeping sickness – a disease the world doesn’t pay attention to – and it can happen sooner than you might think.

Progress in Uganda already shows what’s possible. In 2006, there were nearly 300 cases. By 2013, that number had dropped to 10. This year, we’ve seen only four.

This is exactly why the Gates Foundation invests in innovation. There are now new diagnostic technologies, new drugs in clinical trials, new products to reduce insect populations, and – borrowing a chapter from the polio eradication playbook – state-of-the-art mapping and micro-planning can guide our efforts with greater precision.

But innovations only matter when they reach the people who need them. This is especially true in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, where cases are highest, but inadequate funding, inaccessibility, and de-prioritization have left efforts stagnant.

We need people to believe – as we do – that a world without sleeping sickness is possible. This means asking: Can we set our goals higher?

The answer to that is a resounding yes.

One reason we’re optimistic is because we increasingly see private sector partners stepping up with resources and expertise outside the norm for global health and development.

Each prong of HAT elimination – insect control, diagnostics, and treatment – has a commercial partner involved.

In order to make markets work for the poor, the Gates Foundation takes on financial risk that the private sector can’t or won’t. But in the case of sleeping sickness, companies are combatting a disease where there isn’t a market incentive or chance to make substantial profit, but there is an opportunity to impact public health.

In other words, private sector partners are involved in sleeping sickness programs for a simple reason: it’s the right thing to do.

I spent a significant portion of my career in the biotechnology industry, and am excited by what can happen when the capabilities of private companies are unleashed on the problems of the poor. Corporate social responsibility is one path to impact. We also want to address market failures through mutually beneficial partnerships with the private sector. When we all play to our strengths none of us should be surprised by the possibilities.

Lessons in U.S. Education

From the beginning, Bill and Melinda wanted their foundation to be a learning organization; one that evolves and course corrects based on evidence. We want to get continually smarter. One of our greatest areas of learning has been our work in K-12 U.S. education.

We are firm believers that education is a bridge to opportunity in America. My colleague, Allan Golston, spoke passionately about this at a gathering of education experts last year.

However, we’re facing the fact that it is a real struggle to make system-wide change.

For too many students today, the bridge to a prosperous and fulfilling life is obstructed and uncertain. In 2015, the ACT Condition of Career and College Readiness study revealed that only 40 percent of students met three of the four college-readiness standards across English, reading, math, and science. And performance was much lower for students of color.

That statistic reads like part of a bad word problem, but it is real. It is really tough to create more great public schools.

However, I’m optimistic that all students can thrive when they are held to high standards. And when educators have clear and consistent expectations of what students should be able to do at the end of each year, the bridge to opportunity opens. The Common Core State Standards help set those expectations.

“We are firm believers that education is a bridge to opportunity in America.”

We’ve begun to see signs of improvement in student performance in some of the states that have embraced the Common Core. Kentucky, the first state to adopt the standards, is a prime example.

To implement the Common Core, Kentucky engaged the community and worked with parents, teachers and school leaders to build an interconnected system of standards, teacher feedback and support, and measurement over time. As a result, Kentucky has increased from 27 percent to 33 percent students meeting three out of four ACT benchmarks for college readiness since 2011. The same metric nationally has remained flat since 2011, so a 6 percentage point increase is a sign of real progress.

Deep and deliberate engagement is essential to success. Rigorous standards and high expectations are meaningless if teachers aren’t equipped to help students meet them.

Unfortunately, our foundation underestimated the level of resources and support required for our public education systems to be well-equipped to implement the standards. We missed an early opportunity to sufficiently engage educators – particularly teachers – but also parents and communities so that the benefits of the standards could take flight from the beginning.

 
Bill and Melinda Gates visit with students at Betsy Layne High School in Eastern Kentucky.

This has been a challenging lesson for us to absorb, but we take it to heart. The mission of improving education in America is both vast and complicated, and the Gates Foundation doesn’t have all the answers.

But every tough lesson only reinforces our commitment to teachers and student success.

All teachers and students should have access to learning materials of the highest quality. But far too many districts report that identifying or developing Common Core-aligned materials is a challenge, meaning that teachers spend their time adapting or creating curriculum, developing lessons, and searching for supplemental materials.

One of the best parts of my job is getting to hear from educators. And no one knows teaching like teachers. So, we’re doubling down on our efforts to make sure teachers have what they need to make the most of their unique capabilities.

Digital content and tools that provide support for lesson planning – including LearnZillion, Better Lesson, and EngageNY – are providing millions of teachers with an increasingly attractive alternative to traditional textbooks.

We’re supporting a partnership with EdReports.org, the Consumer Reports of K-12 curriculum, to provide free and open-access teacher-led reviews and evidence on instructional materials. This will increase the capacity of educators across the country to seek, develop, and demand high-quality, aligned instructional materials.

Our learning journey in U.S. education is far from over, but we are in it for the long haul. I’m optimistic that the lessons we learn from our partners – and, crucially, from educators – will help the American school system once again become the powerful engine of equity we all believe it should be.

Imagine What's Possible

Finally, let me tell you about Haliru Usman.

Mr. Usman is an environmental health officer in Nigeria who collects sewage samples so that they can be tested for the polio virus. I met him while visiting Kaduna state to learn about disease surveillance, one of the critical innovations necessary for the global goal of eradicating polio.

Mr. Usman took pride in doing his work because he knew it would help save lives and prevent suffering.

Environmental health officer Haliru Usman testing sewage for the polio virus in Nigeria.

He was right. Nigeria reached the milestone of a year without polio one month after my visit. For the first time in recorded history, the entire African continent went a full year without a child paralyzed by wild poliovirus.

This progress is the result of decades of hard work by the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI). Well before the Gates Foundation got involved, GPEI’s members were at the vanguard, working to bring a halt to the disease. Today, progress against polio is simply a thing of beauty.

As the world focuses on the last frontiers of polio eradication, Pakistan and Afghanistan, we again find ourselves asking: What if?

What if we channel the best science and technology, leverage global partnerships, and mobilize heroes and health workers like Mr. Usman to realize a vision decades in the making?

It is a real honor to work with so many others dedicated to writing history’s answer to that question.

Eradicating polio will mean that we have wiped out one of humanity’s oldest scourges. But it will also mean that the world has built upon the groundwork of possibility to end other diseases that disproportionately affect the poor.

We believe that realizing that vision – a vision started with the audacious goal of a world without polio – is utterly possible. Look how far that has taken us.

And as we rise together to face new global goals, imagine how much further we can go.

Please share your thoughts on the letter.

campaign